Eminent personalities advise EC search body to pick ‘honest and impartial’ people
Tribune Online Report

A 12-member group of eminent personalities has asked the members of the search committee for recommending suitable candidates to pick “honest and impartial” candidates for Election Commission.


The civil society personalities met with the search committee members on Monday at the Supreme Court Judges' Lounge in Dhaka.

The personalities are – former vice chancellor of Dhaka University Prof Dr AK Azad Chowdhury, Serajul Islam Choudhury, former vice chancellor of Dhaka University SMA Fayez, former High Court judge Md Abdur Rashid. TIB Chairman Sultana Kamal, former chief election commissioner ATM Shamsul Huda, former election commissioner Sohul Hussain, former Election Commissioner Sakhawat Hussain, local government expert Tofail Ahmed, Secretary of Shushasoner Jonno Nagorik Badiul Alam Majumdar, eminent educationist and Dhaka University professor Abul Quasem Fazlul Huq and former inspector general of police Nurul Huda.

Quoting some of the members of the civil society personalities, a Dhaka-based English daily on Monday reported that they will ask the search committee to pick “competent, impartial and courageous people” for constituting the five-member Election Commission.

The meeting kicked off at 4pm.

Meanwhile, the search panel has set February 1 to hold talks with another five eminent citizens.

They are- former chief election commissioner Abu Hena, Barrister Rokon Uddin Mahmud, Dainik Samakal editor Golam Sarwar, The Daily Star editor Mahfuz Anam and security analyst Abdur Rashid, Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam, after Monday's meeting, revealed the matter to the media

Moreover, the search body also extended Tuesday's 11am deadline to 4pm, which it earlier fixed to collect names from political parties for the reconstitution of the EC.

The members of search committee will discuss the proposed names at 4pm Tuesday.

President Abdul Hamid on January 25 formed the six-member search committee, headed by Supreme Court’s Appallette Division Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, after holding a series of talks with 31 political parties over reconstitution of the EC.

The other members of the search committee are: Justice Obaidul Hassan, a High Court judge, Muhammed Sadique, chairman of Bangladesh Public Service Commission (BPSC), Masud Ahmed, comptroller and auditor general of Bangladesh, Prof Syed Manzoorul Islam, trustee board member of Transparency International Bangladesh (TIB), and Shireen Akhter, pro-vice chancellor of Chittagong University.

The tenure of the incumbent commission expires next month.

The search committee will recommend two names each for the posts of the EC chief and four election commissioners, according to a gazette notification published on January 25.

Later, the president, on the prime minister's advice, will appoint the chief election commissioner and other commissioners.

Print Friendly and PDF