Bangladesh Cricket League

East Zone win comprehensively
Tribune Report


East Zone registered a comprehensive nine wicket victory over Central Zone in the Bangladesh Cricket League yesterday. On the other match of the day South Zone was trailing by 198 runs after North Zone declared their first innings on 492/9 where Naeem Islam struck 185 runs.

Central Zone v East Zone, Bogra

Central Zone were bundled out on 198 after resuming the third day on 65/1. Marshal Ayub was the top scorer with 35. Pacer Abul Hasan and left arm spinner Saqlain Sajib picked up three wickets while fast bowler Ebadat Hossain took two along with Abu Jayed.  Jayed took seven wickets in the game after his five wicket haul in the first innings.

East Zone chased the small target of 56 runs losing the only wicket of man of the match Liton Kumar Das on six run on the board.  Zakir Hasan remained unbeaten on 33 and Mehedi Maruf was not out on 14 to finish the game in the third day.

Earlier Central Zone posted 224/10 on their first innings where East Zone took the first innings lead and scored 367/10 on their first innings riding on a magnificent 219 run knock by opener Liton.

South Zone v North Zone, Sylhet

South Zone will resume the fourth and final day on 294/4 where Fazle Mahmud scored 121 off 213 deliveries featuring 14 fours and two sixes and remained not out along with Mosaddek Hossain on 34. Left arm spinner Taijul Islam picked up three wickets for the bowling side.

Earlier North Zone declared the first innings on 492/9 where Naeem Islam was dismissed after adding nine runs to his overnight score of 185 off 475 balls with 13 fours and two sixes. Veteran left arm spinner Abdur Razzak picked up 5/185 and off spinner Sohag Gazi took two for South Zone. 

Print Friendly and PDF