• Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Shahidul Alam among CPJ’s 2020 International Press Freedom awardees

  • Published at 06:01 pm July 13th, 2020
Shahidul Alam
Shahidul Alam Courtesy: Rehnuma Ahmed

Three others from Iran, Nigeria and Russia have been awarded this year

The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) has announced renowned Bangladeshi photojournalist Shahidul Alam as one of the winners of its 2020 International Press Freedom Awards.

Three other journalists from Iran, Nigeria, and Russia have also been made recipients of the award this year, CPJ said in a statement on Monday.

They are, Iranian freelance economic reporter Mohammad Mosaed, NIgerian Dapo Olorunyomi, the co-founder, CEO and publisher of the Nigerian daily Premium Times, and Russia’s Svetlana Prokopyeva, a regional correspondent for Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty.

The four have been arrested or faced criminal prosecution in reprisal for their reporting, CPJ said before adding it will also honour lawyer Amal Clooney with the Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award this year.

“Like brave and committed journalists everywhere, CPJ’s honorees set out to report the news without fear or favor for the benefit of their communities, their country, and the world,” it quoted CPJ Executive Director Joel Simon.

“They understood that they would confront powerful forces, enemies of the truth, who would try to stop them from doing their work.

“What they did not foresee was Covid-19. The global pandemic has not only made their jobs more difficult and dangerous; it has fueled a ferocious press freedom crackdown as autocratic leaders around the world suppress unwelcome news under the guise of protecting public health,” he added.

Photojournalist and rights activist Shahidul Alam is the founder of   Pathshala Media Institute and the Drik photo library.

“In August 2018, Alam was detained after posting a video to social media about student protests in Dhaka. He spent 102 days behind bars, and said he was beaten in custody, before being freed in November 2018,” the CPJ statement said.

The winners will be honoured on November 19 this year at CPJ’s annual benefit gala, to be chaired this year by Patrick Gaspard, president of Open Society Foundations, and hosted by veteran broadcast journalist Lester Holt, according to the statement.

The CPJ said that due to health and safety restrictions related to Covid-19, this year’s gala will be virtual, with video profiles, compelling press freedom stories, award presentations, and acceptance speeches streamed online.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail