• Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:54 pm
Western heaven: The land of bliss

Western heaven: The land of bliss

Uncategorized

Thu, Feb 5 2015

In China they say: ‘Go to Western Heaven for Buddhist scriptures.’ In Sanskrit these lands of ‘Western...

The bequest of Cox’s Bazar

The bequest of Cox’s Bazar

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 30 2015

Without Hiram Cox, there may well have been an initiative undertaken, but as his companions, to commemorate...

A hell crammed with good things

A hell crammed with good things

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 23 2015

The climate may have been hell, but the good things of the lands that are now Bangladesh seem to have...

The merchant of London

The merchant of London

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 16 2015

Tim Steel portrays a vivid picture of the lands and people around the Ganges Delta, the heart of today’s...

Pratapaditya, another freedom...

Pratapaditya, another freedom...

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 9 2015

The peoples of the lands that are now the nation of Bangladesh have a rich and ancient history of resistance...

A road to empires

A road to empires

Uncategorized

Wed, Dec 31 2014

The Grand Trunk Road remains one of the earliest, and most enduring of feats of communications planning,...

Child’s war

Child’s war

Uncategorized

Thu, Dec 25 2014

Child’s War, much neglected, or overshadowed, in both Britain, and the history of the lands that are...

The paradise of nations

The paradise of nations

Uncategorized

Fri, Dec 19 2014

The trade that, in Aurangzeb’s day, moved him to make his famous remark about Bengal, describing it as...

Was Shinto born here?

Was Shinto born here?

Uncategorized

Fri, Dec 5 2014

It was, in fact, pursuit of his study of the more mystical aspects of Mahayana that took Bodhisena to...

Portuguese pirates

Portuguese pirates

Uncategorized

Fri, Nov 28 2014

The shadow cast by Vasco da Gama, and the Portuguese, over these lands that are now Bangladesh is, it...

The Bhawal estate scandal

The Bhawal estate scandal

Uncategorized

Fri, Nov 7 2014

Justice delayed, justice deniedDhaka, and, indeed, the rest of the lands that are now Bangladesh, and...

Gunpowder plots

Gunpowder plots

Uncategorized

Fri, Oct 31 2014

India, it has been said, was the ‘largest gunpowder producer in the world until the twentieth century....

An enduring cure for sadness

An enduring cure for sadness

Uncategorized

Fri, Oct 24 2014

From the Shamanic aspects of Animism from the Hindu Brahmanic traditions, through the philosophical...

The Bangladesh riviera

The Bangladesh riviera

Uncategorized

Fri, Oct 17 2014

Originally, riviera was an Italian word And what better way to describe Cox’s Bazar District , as the...

Just a word

Just a word

Uncategorized

Fri, Oct 10 2014

The trading of words between Sankrit and European languagesTrade between the ancient lands that are now...

RICE – Food for thought

RICE – Food for thought

Uncategorized

Fri, Oct 3 2014

Both of these southern terminals lie, today, in the lands of BangladeshWhether the domestic cultivation...

Denying Bangladesh

Denying Bangladesh

Uncategorized

Fri, Sep 19 2014

These are examples of neglect and wilful denial, an ignorance that diminishes Bangladesh today. A tragedy...

Persian perceptions

Persian perceptions

Uncategorized

Fri, Sep 12 2014

A closer look at the apparently close historical relationship between present day Iran and Bangladesh...

The fishing fleet

The fishing fleet

Uncategorized

Fri, Sep 5 2014

Description of nearly two centuries of husband seeking travel between Britain and the sub-continentThe...

Dhaka, the city of palaces

Dhaka, the city of palaces

Uncategorized

Fri, Aug 29 2014

With unquestionable origins, the city has stood close to the great crossroads of the northern India“Space,...

Genghis Khan’s raids, and...

Genghis Khan’s raids, and...

Uncategorized

Fri, Aug 22 2014

What is certain is that their cultural, economic, even their genetic heritage made a lasting change in...