• Saturday, Nov 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Trial against two absconding razakars starts December 4

  • Published at 07:12 pm November 2nd, 2016
Trial against two absconding razakars starts December 4
The three-member tribunal headed by Chairman Justice Anwarul Haque set the date on Tuesday after framing of the charges against Awami League leader Md Liakat Ali, former chairman of Lakhai Union Parishad under Habiganj, and Aminul Islam alias Rajab Ali from Kishoreganj on seven counts. On December 4, the tribunal will hear the opening statement of the prosecution and record depositions of witnesses. Liakat was an activist of Muslim League and Rajab a member of Jamaat’s Islami Chhatra Sangha during the Liberation War. Liakat served as the president of Lakhai Thana unit Awami League between 2003 and 2013. The case was filed against the duo in 2010 for committing crimes against humanity including mass killings of Hindus, looting and arson in the bordering areas of Habiganj, Brahmanbaria and Kishoreganj districts. Lawyers Rana Dasgupta and Rezia Sultana Cheman stood for the prosecution, while state-appointed counsel Gazi MH Tamim represented the duo. The tribunal took the charges into cognisance on May 18 this year and issued arrest warrant against them. The tribunal’s investigation team submitted the probe report in December 2015. The first charge was framed for carrying out mass killings and looting by the razakars along with the Pakistani occupational forces at Krishnapur village of Lakhai on September 18. A total of 43 people of the Hindu community including Radhika Mohan Roy and Shunil Sharma were shot dead on that day. The second charge involve mass killings and looting at Chandipur village while the third for the same offence at Gadainagar village under Lakhai of Habiganj. The fourth charge was framed for mass killings at Sadanagar village under Astogram Upazila in Kishoreganj. The duo were made accused of abducting Bachchu Mia and Rangu Mia, and killing them at Fandauk village under Nasirnagar Upazila in Brahmanbaria. In the sixth count, they were charged for carrying out attack on Chowdhury Bari and committing murder at Sabianagar village of Astogram.  The seventh was framed for committing murders at Sabianagar village. According to the prosecution, Liakat was a student of Brahmanbaria College during the war and was assigned as the commander of Fandauk Union razakar force. He fled the country after the war and returned after many years. He later became the president of Lakhai Upazila unit Awami League. He fled the area as the investigation began. On the other hand, Rajab was the president of Jamaat’s student unit Islami Chhatra Sangha’s Bhairab Hazi Hasmat Ali College unit in 1970. He took training at Bhairab Army camp and formed al-Badr force in the area. Rajab was detained by the freedom fighters shortly after the independence and was sentenced to life-term imprisonment in a case filed under the Collaborators Act. But he was freed from jail after the law was scrapped.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail