• Monday, May 29, 2023
  • Last Update : 06:33 pm

Air Force, 15 personalities get Independence Award

  • Published at 03:13 pm March 23rd, 2017
  • Last updated at 01:30 am March 24th, 2017
Air Force, 15 personalities get Independence Award
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Thursday presented the Independence Award 2017, the nation's highest civilian award, to Bangladesh Air Force and 15 distinguished personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions in their respective fields. The prime minister handed over a certificate, an 18-carat gold medal weighing 50 grams, and a Tk3 lakh cheque to each recipient and their representatives in a programme at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka. [caption id="attachment_54284" align="aligncenter" width="900"]FB-(1) Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina with the recipients of Swadhinata Padak (Independence Award) 2017 at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka FOCUS BANGLA[/caption] Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam conducted the award ceremony and read out the citations of the awardees, reports UNB. The Independence Award 2017 was presented to Group Captain (retd) Shamsul Alam Bir Uttam, former Bangladesh Betar official Ashraful Alam, and Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Abu Asrar on behalf of the Bangladesh Air Force in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the Liberation War. The award was also presented to Engineer Shahidul Islam Haque on behalf of his late father, former police super Shaheed Md Nazmul Huq; MN Sadrul Ahsan on behalf of his older brother, Shaheed Nazmul Ahsan; Syeda Saira Mohsin MP on behalf of her late husband, former minister Syed Mohsin Ali; and Sufia Khatun on behalf of her father, Shaheed Faizur Rahman Ahmed. Others who received the award are Prof Dr AHM Touhidul Anowar Chawdhury (medical science), Begum Rabeya Khatun (literature), Prof Dr Enamul Huq and Ustad Bazlur Rahman Badal (culture), Khalil Kazi OBE (social service), Bangla Academy Director General Shamsuzzaman Khan (research & training) and Prof Mohammad Asaduzzaman (public administration). Ministers, state ministers, advisers to the PM, members of parliament, diplomats, and senior civil and military officials were also present on the occasion.