• Friday, Oct 07, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Mahmud Hossain sworn in as new chief justice

  • Published at 02:04 pm February 3rd, 2018
  • Last updated at 04:21 pm February 3rd, 2018
Mahmud Hossain sworn in as new chief justice
Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, a judge of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, has taken oath as the new chief justice of Bangladesh. President Md Abdul Hamid administered the oath to him at Bangabhaban in Dhaka around 7:10pm on Saturday, reports UNB. According to the report, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, former chief justices, ministers, advisers to the prime minister, the chief whip, Supreme Court judges, the attorney general, senior lawyers, the chief election commissioner and chiefs of the three services were, among others, present at the event. The swearing-in ceremony was conducted by Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam. Justice Hossain was appointed as the 22nd chief justice barely three months after Justice Surendra Kumar Sinha resigned from the post after a bitter conflict with the government over several issues. Hours after his appointment on Friday, Justice Md Abdul Wahhab Miah, the senior most Appellate Division judge who had been carrying out the activities of chief justice, had resigned from the division. The post of the chief justice had fallen vacant when Justice Sinha resigned on November 10 last year after taking a leave of absence on health grounds in October. Justice Miah was made the acting chief justice after Justice Sinha went abroad on leave. According to the age limit, Miah could have served till November 10, 2018. Elevated to the Appellate Division in February 2011, Justice Hossain had joined the High Court Division as an additional judge in 2001, only two years after Justice Miah. Before his High Court appointment, Justice Hossain had served as a deputy attorney general since December 1999. He started practising law as an advocate in the District Court level in 1981, and two years later, he went on to practice in the High Court. With Justice Miah's resignation, Justice Hossain, who has three more years before his retirement, is now the senior most judge in the Appellate Division. The other three Appellate Division judges are Justice Muhammad Imman Ali, Justice Hasan Foez Siddique and Justice Mirza Hussain Haider.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail