• Monday, Aug 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Quader asks Awami League district, city units to submit full committees by Sept 15

  • Published at 10:06 pm September 2nd, 2020
File photo of Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader Dhaka Tribune

The general secretary said a meeting of the AL presidium members will be held soon

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader on Wednesday instructed the district and city units of the Awami League and its associate bodies to submit their full-phase committees to the party’s office division within September 15 next.

“The AL district and city units and its associate bodies, which are yet to form their full-phase committees, have been asked to submit their full-fledged bodies to the party’s office division at AL President Sheikh Hasina’s political office within September 15 next,” he said.

Quader, also the road transport and bridges minister, came up with the directives while addressing an AL secretary-level meeting at the party’s Bangabandhu Avenue central office in the capital.

AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina joined the meeting through videoconference from Ganabhaban.

Also Read - Quader warns against intrusion of wrongdoers into Awami League

Quader said holding district conferences do not make any sense without upazila conferences and announcing union and ward committees. “That is why we have to think from the grassroots,” he added.

He said a meeting of the Awami League presidium members will be held soon. “Then we are considering holding a meeting of the party’s executive committee.”

Awami League joint general secretaries Mahbubul Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni and AFM Bahauddin Nasim, organizing secretaries Ahmad Hossain, BM Mozammel Haque, SM Kamal Hossain, Advocate Afzal Hossain and Mirza Azam, Liberation War Affairs Secretary Mrinal Kanti Das, Cultural Secretary Asim Kumar Ukil, Relief and Social Welfare Secretary Sujit Roy Nandi, Science and Technology Affairs Secretary Abdus Sabur, Labour Affairs Secretary Habibur Rahman Siraj, Office Secretary Barrister Biplab Barua, Information and Research Secretary Dr Selim Mahmud, Health Affairs Secretary Dr Rokeya Sultana, International Affairs Secretary Shammi Ahmed, Deputy Publicity Secretary Aminul Islam Amin and Deputy Office Secretary Sayeem Khan were present, among others.