• Wednesday, Feb 08, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

JaPa picks candidates for by-polls to Dhaka 5, Naogaon 6

  • Published at 01:52 pm September 12th, 2020
FILE PHOTO: Jatiya Party activists carrying the party's electoral symbol plough and a festoon with photo of its founder HM Ershad in front of its offices at Banani, Dhaka Rajib Dhar/Dhaka Tribune

The by-elections to the two vacant seats are scheduled to be held on October 17

Jatiya Party on Saturday announced the names of its candidates for the by-elections to Dhaka 5 and Naogaon 6 constituencies.

The party nominated its presidium member Mir Abdus Sabur Asud and its Raninagar upazila unit President Kazi Golam Kabir as the candidates of "Plough" in the Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-elections respectively, said a party press release.

Jatiya Party’s nomination board, led by its Chairman GM Quader, picked the two candidates after taking interviews of the aspirants who submitted their nomination papers aiming to contest the by-polls.

On September 7, Awami League picked Monirul Islam Monu for Dhaka-5 and Mohammad Anawar Hossain Helal for Naogaon-6 as its candidates.

BNP is also expected to announce the names of its candidates for the by-election in the evening.

The Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 parliamentary seats fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Habibur Rahman Molla and Israfil Alam respectively.

According to a schedule declared by the Election Commission on September 3, the by-elections to the two vacant seats will be held on October 17.

While taking the interviews, Jatiya Party Chairman GM Quader said their party will remain there in the race till the last minute to ensure the victories of its candidates.

“People are eagerly waiting for casting votes for the Plough symbol of Pallibandhu. Therefore, the Jatiya Party will be there in the elections with all its strength for victories. Every leader and activist of Jatiya Party will fight for ensuring the victory of its candidates,” he said.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail