• Friday, Sep 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Shahidul Alam to receive CPJ 2020 International Press Freedom Award

  • Published at 02:21 pm November 19th, 2020
Shahidul Alam
Shahidul Alam Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

Three others from Iran, Nigeria and Russia have been awarded this year

Shahidul Alam, an internationally renowned photojournalist, activist and founder of Drik and Pathshala South Asian Media Institute, is set to receive the 2020 International Press Freedom Award. 

Alam, along with three other journalists across the world, will be presented with the prestigious award by the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) at 8pm on Thursday (7am on Friday, Bangladesh time), said a media statement. 

Shahidul Alam, Mohammad Mosaed from Iran, Dapo Olorunyomi from Nigeria and Svetlana Prokopyeva from Russia have all had the experience of being arrested or facing criminal charges for their fearless reporting.

In August 2018, Alam was detained after reporting on social media on the youth movement for road safety in Dhaka. He was tortured in custody and spent 107 days behind bars before he was freed on bail on November 20, 2018, according to the statement. 

Also Read - Shahidul Alam among CPJ’s 2020 International Press Freedom awardees

The CPJ publicly called for Alam’s release on the day he was taken into custody and four days later issued a statement calling for his immediate release. In the subsequent months that he was in jail, the CPJ continued its support for the #freeshahidulalam campaign.  

The CPJ will also honour human rights advocate and lawyer Amal Clooney with the 2020 Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award. Hollywood actress Meryl Streep will be joining the online broadcast to present her the award.   

The program will be broadcast online at ipfa2020.org. It will also be aired on major news channels like NBC, CBS and ABC. From Bangladesh, it will be broadcast online from driknews.com. 

Earlier in July, the CPJ announced Alam as one of the recipients of the 2020 International Press Freedom Award.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail