• Tuesday, Jan 18, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

2nd phase polls to 61 municipalities January 16

  • Published at 08:53 pm December 2nd, 2020
Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) were used in the Khulna city polls last month
File photo of Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

EVMs will be used in 29 municipalities while traditional ballot papers in the rest

Election to 61 municipalities of different districts will be held on January 16.

The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday declared the schedule for the second phase of the municipal election.

EC Senior Secretary Md Alamgir announced the schedule saying that electronic voting machines (EVM) will be used in 29 municipalities, while traditional ballot papers in the remaining 32 municipalities in the second phase election.

According to the election schedule, the deadline for submission of nomination papers is December 20, while the date for scrutinising them is December 22 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is December 29.

Balloting will start at 8am continue until 4pm without any recess.

Also  Read - First phase of municipality election on Dec 28

The 61 municipalities include Nageshwari in Kurigram, Syedpur in Nilphamari, Kakanhat, Arani and Bhabaniganj in Rajshahi, Birampur, Dinajpur and Birganj in Dinajpur, Gaibandha and Sundarganj in Gaibandha, Naldangha, Gurudaspur and Gopalpur in Natore, Nazirpur in Naogaon, Sherpur, Santahar and Sariakandi in Bogra, Iswardi, Bangura, Faridpur, Santhia and Sujanagar in Pabna, and Ullapara, Belkuchi, Siranjganj, Raiganj and Kazipur in Sirajganj.

The municipalities also include Kushtia, Beramara, Kumarkhali and Mirpur in Kushtia, Gagni in Meherpur, Shailkupa in Jhenaidah, Mongla port in Bagerhat, Pirojpur, Shariatpur, Magura, Boalmari in Faridpur, Tarabo in Narayanganj, Savar in Dhaka, Dhanbari in Tangail, Fulbaria and Muktagacha in Mymensingh, Mohonaganj and Kendua in Netrakona, Kishoreganj and Kuliarchar in Kishoreganj, Monohardi in Narsingdi.

The rest municipalities are Chhatak, Sunamganj and Jagannathpur in Sunamganj, Madhabpur and Nabiganj in Habiganj, Kulaura and Kamalganj in Moulvibazar, Chandina in Comilla, Basurhar in Noakhali, Sandwip in Chittagong, Khagrachhari, and Lama in Badarban.

On November 22 last, the EC announced the schedule for the first phase of the municipal election, fixing December 28 as the voting day for 25 other municipalities.

In the 25 municipalities, 112 mayoral aspirants, 938 hopefuls for councillor posts and 283 women candidates for reserved seats submitted nomination papers within the deadline that expired on December 1 last.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail