• Monday, Jan 17, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

54 municipalities go to polls Sunday

  • Published at 05:48 pm February 13th, 2021
Voting municipality elections Noakhali Basurhat
File photo of voters queue up to cast their votes in the second phase of municipality elections. The photo was taken from Basurhat Government Primary School centre in Companiganj upazila of Noakhali on Saturday, January 16, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

Voting postponed in two municipalities over polls-centric violence

Amid reports of regular clashes between the municipal polls candidates and their supporters, the fourth phase elections are all set to take place in 54 municipalities of 37 districts on Sunday morning.

Voters using electronic voting machines will start exercising their franchise at 8am, which will continue till 4pm without any break in 30 municipalities of 29 districts. Ballots will be cast through in the rest municipalities. 

In fact, the voting was first scheduled in 57 municipalities, but  the Election Commission (EC) later on postponed the elections to the Kalkini municipality in Madaripur and Kalai municipality in Joypurhat over pre-polls violence. 

Meanwhile, all 10 candidates including that for the mayoral post in Feni's Parshuram municipality won unopposed, causing the election to be suspended.  

The first phase election to 24 municipalities was held on December 28. The second and third phase voting took place in 60 and 62 municipalities on January 16 and January 30 respectively. 

In one of the latest incidents, the supporters of the Awami League-endorsed mayoral candidate and an independent aspirant of Alamdanga municipality in Chudanga clashed and carried out vandalism on Thursday night. 

Similar clashes were reported in the previous three spates of the municipal polls, with violence erupting during voting in at least eight municipalities on January 30. 

BNP and independent candidates boycotted the third phase elections to some 10 municipalities. 

The EC has taken all-out preparations for the polls. Security has been heightened in the electoral areas through the deployment of additional law enforcers, with  one magistrate assigned for each of the 54 municipalities. 

The fifth phase election to 31 municipalities has been scheduled for February 28. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail