• Tuesday, Mar 28, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

21 eminent citizens to receive Ekushey Padak on Saturday

  • Published at 04:09 pm February 18th, 2021
web_Ekushey Padak
File photo of Ekushey Padak Courtesy

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will join the ceremony virtually

This year's Ekushey Padak will be handed over on Saturday to 21 distinguished citizens of the country for their outstanding contributions in their respective fields.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will virtually join the award-giving event at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka from her official residence Ganabhaban, according to the Press Information Department (PID).

Organized by the Cultural Affairs Ministry, the program will commence at 11am. 

The ministry announced the names of the 21 winners on February 4.

Under the language and literature category, poet Quazi Rosy, Bulbul Chowdhury and writer Golam Murshid have been named for the award.

Motahar Hossain Talukder, Shamsul Haque and Afsar Uddin Ahmed were named posthumously for their contributions to the language movement.

Meanwhile, Begum Papia Sarwar has been named for music, Raisul Islam Asad and Salma Begum Sujata (Sujata Azim) for acting, Ahmed Iqbal Haidar for plays, Syed Salahuddin Zaki for film, Bhashwar Bandopahdyay for recitation and Pavel Rahman for photography.

Besides, Golam Hasnayen, Fazlur Rahman Khan Faruk and freedom fighter Syeda Isabela (posthumous) have been chosen for their contributions to the Liberation War.

Ajay Das Gupta won the award in the field of journalism, Dr Ashim Kumar Saha in research, Begum Mahfuza Khanam in education, Dr Mirza Abdul Jalil in economics and Professor Kazi Kamruzzamn in social service.

The Ekushey Padak is the second highest civilian award in Bangladesh, introduced in memory of the martyrs of the Language Movement of 1952. The award carries a gold medal, a certificate of honour and cash.

The government on July 20, 2020 sought nomination proposals for the award from all ministries, different departments, deputy commissioners, public university authorities and recipients of Swadhinata Padak and Ekushey Padak by October 15, 2020.

The prize is given in several categories, including the Language Movement, shilpakala (music, dance, acting and fine arts), the Liberation War, journalism, research, education, science and technology, economics, social service, politics and language and literature.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail