• Friday, Feb 03, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Covid-19 restrictions: Where can Bangladeshis travel?

  • Published at 04:35 pm June 24th, 2021
Migrant workers at Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka
File photo: Migrant workers at Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

The Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh is considering updating flight restrictions to and from Bangladesh

The Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) is set to update flight guidelines in the near future considering the developing Covid-19 situation around the globe.

"The updated guidelines will be released very soon. We are considering some changes to domestic flight guidelines, as some districts have been put into lockdown," CAAB Chairman Air Vice Marshall M Mafidur Rahman said.

The emerging Delta Plus variant of Covid-19 in India is a major factor in the update, he added.

Flight guidelines that are currently in effect were issued by CAAB on June 4. They are:

11 'no-go' countries

In line with a recent decision of CAAB, no passengers are currently allowed in Bangladesh from 11 countries: Argentina, Bahrain, Bolivia, Brazil, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Nepal, Uruguay, Paraguay, and Trinidad and Tobago. 

Only Bangladeshi expatriates or citizens who have not visited these countries within 15 days of travel to Bangladesh are allowed to travel to and from Dhaka, provided that they have special approval from the authorities concerned.

On arrival, they will complete mandatory 14-day institutional quarantine at government nominated hotels at their own expense. Proof of hotel booking must be produced during check-in and verified by an airline representative before the issuing of boarding passes. 

Countries from where CAAB allows flights 

Passengers from Belgium, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Greece, Kuwait, and Oman are permitted to travel to Dhaka.

However, they will still have to complete a mandatory 14-day institutional quarantine at government nominated hotels at their own expense. There is no restriction on passengers traveling to these countries.

Incoming passengers from Kuwait and Oman will have to complete mandatory three-day institutional quarantine at government nominated facilities or at hotels at their own expense.

Other countries

Passengers from all other countries will have to complete 14-day strict home quarantine.

All incoming or outgoing passengers must possess PCR based Covid-19 negative certificates. The PCR test should be done within 72 hours of the flight departure time. 

Outgoing passengers should also follow the latest restrictions or requirements imposed by the transit or destination country.

What are the rules for Bangladeshis in highly travelled countries? 

Soon after the detection of the Indian variant of Covid-19, many countries, including Canada, the UK, Australia, Singapore, Italy, Thailand, Malaysia, the UAE and Oman suspended flights with Bangladesh.


Passengers who have been in or transited through Bangladesh in the past 10 days are not allowed to enter.


Foreign nationals are prohibited from entering Canada until June 21. However, the travel ban will be lifted early next month. 


All persons must have proof of a negative certificate and are encouraged to undergo testing for Covid-19 within three-five days of arrival and to self-isolate for a week. All must wear  masks when using public conveyances. 


From May 15, foreign nationals are prohibited from entering the country except its lawful residents. There is a mandatory 14-day quarantine in a designated facility in their port of entry. 


Passengers except nationals and residents of Thailand are not allowed to enter and transit until 31 July. But diplomatic passengers can travel and must be in quarantine for 14 days at their own expense.  

Singapore and Italy

All long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who have been to Bangladesh in the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter Singapore, while Italy imposed a travel ban until 30 July on the same conditions.   

UAE and Malaysia

Bangladeshis cannot enter and transit through this country until travel restrictions are lifted. Besides, passengers who have traveled from Bangladesh in the previous two weeks are also not allowed to enter the UAE. Malaysia has also imposed the same restrictions for Bangladeshi passengers.

India and KSA

Bangladeshis can enter India following a 14-day quarantine, while Saudi Arabia permits passengers from Bangladesh who are already vaccinated with two doses. The latter are exempted from quarantine, but others must undergo a Covid-19 test and quarantine upon their arrival in Saudi Arabia. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail