• Thursday, Aug 18, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

BFUJ: Pay salaries, bonuses before Eid

  • Published at 09:31 pm July 13th, 2021
Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ) and Dhaka Union of Journalists (DUJ)

Union leaders urge government to take action against media outlet owners who ignore the demand

The Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ) has urged media outlet owners to pay salaries and festival allowances to journalists in their employ before the upcoming Eid-ul-Azha on July 21.

BFUJ leaders voiced the demand at a virtual meeting of members of its executive committee in Dhaka on Sunday night. BFUJ President Mollah Jalal chaired the meeting, said a BFUJ statement on Tuesday.

BFUJ also urged media outlet owners to pay arrears and stop sacking media workers during the current pandemic situation.

The union also urged the government to take action against media outlet owners who ignore the demands.

Furthermore, BFUJ expressed grave concern over the recent incidents of lodging cases against and arresting journalists by misusing the Digital Security Act (DSA).

Also Read- Digital Security Act: Thakurgaon hospital sues 3 journalists over Covid-19 reports

“The DSA was misused against journalists in Thakurgaon, which is a worrying and sorrowful matter."

Noting that such incidents would tarnish the image of the journalist-friendly government and its positive and successful works, BFUJ leaders demanded the withdrawal of DSA cases against journalists in different parts of the country.

Besides, the meeting decided to set another date for holding the representative council in the next meeting, as the current Covid-19 situation prompted the organization to cancel the previously fixed date on July 31, the statement said.

BFUJ acting Secretary General Abdul Majid conducted the meeting while its executive member and former president Manjurul Ahsan Bulbul, Vice President Syed Ishtiaq Reza, treasurer Deep Azad, Dhaka Union of Journalists (DUJ) General Secretary Sajjad Alam Khan Tapu, and BFUJ Office Secretary Barun Bhawmik Nayan and members Noore Jannat Akhtar Seema, Sebika Rani and Khairuzzaman Kamal took part in the meeting.