• Friday, Dec 09, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

BINA, its chief scientist win IAEA awards

  • Published at 08:13 am September 21st, 2021
The logo of the International Atomic Energy Agency is seen at their headquarters Reuters

BINA's scientists have so far developed a total of 117 high yielding and improved varieties, including 83 mutant varieties of 18 different crops

The Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture (BINA) has received the “Outstanding Achievement Award” by United Nations International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) for its outstanding contribution to mutation breeding.

Besides, Dr Shamsunnahar Begum, head and chief scientific officer, Department of Plant Breeding, BINA, has been awarded the “Women in Plant Mutation Breeding Award” for her outstanding contribution to plant mutation breeding and related biotechnology.

Rafael Mariano Grossi, director general of the IAEA in Vienna, Austria, formally presented the award to Muhammad Abdul Muhith, ambassador of Bangladesh to Austria, on Monday.

In every six-seven years, IAEA gives awards in three categories for outstanding contribution to mutation breeding among member states.

The three categories are -- Outstanding Achievements (Private or Institutional), Women Scientists Unique Contribution to Mutation Breeding and Young Scientists Awards.

This year, out of 173 member states of the IAEA, 11 individuals or institutions in the first category, 10 women scientists in the second category and seven young scientists in the third category have received awards.

Earlier in 2014, BINA's current director general Dr Mirza Mofazzal Islam received the IAEA Outstanding Achievement Award in mutation breeding.

Dr Mirza Mofazzal said that BINA's scientists have so far developed a total of 117 high yielding and improved varieties, including 83 mutant varieties of 18 different crops, using mutation breeding, conventional breeding and other advanced techniques through peaceful use of nuclear energy.

In recognition of all these contributions, BINA and its scientists have been awarded at various times by local and international organizations.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail