• Tuesday, Jun 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Judge: Nusrat’s sacrifice a source of inspiration to women

  • Published at 11:36 pm October 24th, 2019
Nusrat Jahan Rafi
File photo of Nusrat Jahan Rafi, an Alim examinee and student of Sonagazi Madrasa in Feni, who died on April 10, after being set on fire on April 6 Dhaka Tribune

Feni's Women and Children Repression Prevention Tribunal Judge Mamunur Rashid sentenced 16 people to death on Thursday

While delivering the verdict of Nusrat Jahan Rafi murder case, the court in its observation said that the 'shining sacrifice' of the young woman will always remain a source of inspiration for the preservation of women's dignity.

Feni's Women and Children Repression Prevention Tribunal Judge Mamunur Rashid sentenced 16 people to death on Thursday.

On April 6, 18-year-old Nusrat Jahan, an alim examinee of Sonagazi Islamia Senior Fazil Madrasa, was set on fire in broad daylight on the roof of the institution by people loyal to principal Sirajuddaula, when she refused to withdraw a sexual harassment case her family filed against him on May 27.

She succumbed to her critical burn injuries at the Dhaka Medical College Hospital on April 10, which sparked nationwide outrage, and a public demand for swift justice against the perpetrators.

“This incident has tarnished the luminous role of Sonagazi Islamia Senior Fazil Madrasa in escalating education in the area as well as shaken the conscience of the world. Victim Nusrat's brilliant sacrifice in preserving the status of womanhood has given her immortality already," the judge said.

“Her immortality will remain as an inspiration forever. As well, the arrogance of the accused will surely be the cause of shame to humanity over time. Therefore, the culprits deserve the most severe punishment,” the court observed.

Earlier, the court handed death penalty to madrasa principal Md Sirajuddaula, Nur Uddin, Shahadat Hossain Shamim, councilor Maksud Alam, Saifur Rahman Mohammad Zobair, Shakhawat Hossain Jabed, Hafez Abdul Kader, Absar Uddin, Kamrun Nahar Moni, Umme Sultana Poppy, Abdur Rahim Sharif, Iftekhar Uddin Rana, Imran Hossain Mamun, Mohammad Shamim, Ruhul Amin, and Mohiuddin Shakil.

Each of the convicts has also been slapped with a fine of Tk100,000 each.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail