• Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Students of 7 DU-affiliated colleges call off movement

  • Published at 08:54 pm October 9th, 2017
  • Last updated at 09:12 pm October 9th, 2017
Students of 7 DU-affiliated colleges call off movement
The students of seven colleges affiliated with Dhaka University (DU) have postponed their movement until November 30, following an assurance from the DU vice-chancellor of publishing results of honours final year next month. VC Prof Md Akhtaruzzaman also pledged to meet their demands at a meeting with the students at his office on Monday noon. The students were accompanied by Bangladesh Chhatra League President Saifur Rahman Sohag and General Secretary SM Jakir Hossain. After the meeting, Faizur Rahman Mehedi, a Kabi Nazrul Government College student, told reporters that they were suspending their movement until the end of November following the VC’s assurance. “The VC has told us that they will take help from the National University authorities in publishing the results.” On Sunday morning, the students of the seven colleges blockaded the New Market intersection in the capital to press home their five-point charter of demand.
Also Read- Students of 7 DU-affiliated colleges block New Market intersection, cause traffic gridlock
Their demonstration had continued until 6pm, causing severe gridlock in that area adjacent to DU and on all the roads leading to that intersection for hours. DU VC Prof Md Akhtaruzzaman on Monday said: “We will try to take the necessary measures regarding the rest of their demands cooperating with the National University.” Their four other demands are: withdrawal of the case against 1,200 students of the colleges, announcement of the schedule for honours third year final exams, a new academic calendar and a separate website for all the seven colleges. However, DU authorities announced the third year final exam schedule on Sunday. The tests will begin from October 23. The seven DU affiliated colleges are Dhaka College, Eden Mohila College, Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Begum Badrunnesa Government Mohila College, Mirpur Government Bangla College and Government Titumir College.