• Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

EC demarcation: Dhaka-2 constituency to be split in three

  • Published at 02:29 pm April 2nd, 2018
  • Last updated at 07:33 pm April 2nd, 2018
EC demarcation: Dhaka-2 constituency to be split in three
The Election Commission (EC) published a draft last month bringing change to 38 constituencies of 16 districts ahead of the 11th national elections. Published on March 14, the draft has brought major and minor alterations to all the 38 constituencies, but Dhaka-2 – a parliamentary seat of Food Minister Qamrul Islam -- has seen huge changes in its demarcation. Assessing the draft it was found that the current Dhaka-2 parliamentary seat has been divided into three constituencies. The MP of the constituency, Qamrul, filed an application to the EC, bringing objection to the demarcation draft. The EC received more than 600 applications seeking changes to the demarcation draft until the deadline on April 1. It received about 400 applications on the last day. A number of ministers and ruling party MPs are among those who filed these applications. Sources said the applications will be placed on a meeting of the EC. Preparations are underway for presenting these documents in hearings and the dates will be finalized soon. In 2013, the commission received about 900 applications on the demarcation of 75 constituencies of 30 districts while it received about 4,000 applications in 2008.

Changes proposed for Dhaka-2

Qamrul Islam was elected MP for two consecutive times from Dhaka-2 constituency. Under the existing demarcation, the seat covers three wards (55, 56 and 57) of Dhaka City Corporation, seven unions of Keraniganj upazila (Hazratpur, Kolatia, Taranagar, Shakta, Ruhitpur, Basta and Kalindi) and three unions of Savar Upazila (Amin Bazar, Tetuljhora and Bhakurta). But according to the draft demarcation, the whole Keraniganj upazila is now under Dhaka-2 constituency. Earlier, the main part of the upazila, Aganagar, Jinjira, Teghoria, Konda and Shubhadya fell in Dhaka-3 constituency. The draft demarcation has included existing Dhaka-2 constituency’s Savar portion in Dhaka-3 constituency. It also proposed demarcation of Dhaka-14 with Kaundia union and Savar municipality, Savar and Birulia unions. The draft proposed redrawing boundary of Dhaka-19 with Shimulia, Dhamsona, Yarpur, Ashulia, Pathalia and Savar Cantonment. “We have filed an application to the commission. We hope the commission will consider the matter by keeping unchanged the existing demarcation of the constituency [Dhaka-2],” said MP Qamrul Islam. EC sources said the final list of the constituencies will be published on April 30 after settling the objections of the applications. The commission will soon fix hearing dates in this regard. This article was first published on banglatribune.com