• Sunday, Jun 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Deals for Agargaon-Motijheel section of MRT Line-6 signed

  • Published at 08:49 pm April 30th, 2018
Deals for Agargaon-Motijheel section of MRT Line-6 signed
Two separate agreements for construction of eight kilometres of elevated viaducts (tracks) and seven stations of the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Line-6 from Agargaon to Motijheel were signed at a city hotel on Monday. Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) Managing Director MAN Siddique and Tsuyoshi Nishimura of Japanese construction firm Tekken Corporation signed one agreement on behalf of their respective sides. The other agreement was signed by the DMTCK managing director and Ikuokitada of Sumitomo Mitsui Construction Co Ltd. The total cost of the projects under the two agreements is Tk4,200 crore. Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader, also the Awami League general secretary, was present as chief guest at the signing ceremony. Speaking on the occasion, Obaidul said the construction work on the Agargaon-Motijheel section of the country's first ever metro rail would begin soon. Chairman of the Standing Committee on the Road Transport and Bridges Ministry AKM Ekabbar Hossain, member Nazmul Haque Prodhan, Road Transport Division Secretary M Nazrul Islam, Chief Engineer of the Roads and Highways Department Ibne Alam Hassan and other senior officials concerned were also in attendance. According to details of the project, around 20km of the MRT Line-6 is being constructed in eight phases. In the third and fourth phase, construction of nine kilometres of viaducts and nine stations from Uttara North to Agargaon is progressing in full swing. In the fifth phase, three kilometres of viaducts and three stations from Agargaon to Karwan Bazar are to be constructed, while five kilometres of viaducts and four stations from Karwan Bazar to Motijheel will be constructed in the sixth phase. A total 14 trains are to operate on the MRT line every three minutes, carrying around 60,000 passengers each hour in both directions. The 20km metro rail running through Uttara, Mirpur, Rokeya Sarani, Khamarbari, Farmgate, Sonargaon Hotel, Shahbagh, Doel Chattar and Topkhana road will have 16 stations. Earlier, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina launched the construction work on the metro rail project, also known as the MRT Line-6, on June 24, 2016.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail