• Monday, Jun 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Dhaka Tribune reporter, 4 others win ActionAid Media Award 2019

  • Published at 06:59 pm October 19th, 2019
Young journalist award 2019
Dhaka university correspondent for Dhaka Tribune, Fahim Reza Shovon, receives 'ActionAid Young Journalist Media Award 2019' at the Centre on Integrated Rural Development for Asia and the Pacific (Cirdap) auditorium in Dhaka on Saturday, October 19, 2019 Mahmud Hossain Opu/ Dhaka Tribune

He was recognized for his outstanding reporting on the promotion of youth leadership in social transformation

Dhaka Tribune journalist Fahim Reza Shovon won the ActionAid Young Journalist Media Award 2019.

He was recognized for his outstanding reporting on the promotion of youth leadership in social transformation.

Fahim and four other journalists received awards in a ceremony held at the Centre on Integrated Rural Development for Asia and the Pacific (Cirdap) auditorium in Dhaka on Saturday.

Among others, senior correspondent of NTV, ASM Atiq, senior reporter for Channel 24, Murshed Hassib Hasan, sub-editor Zahidur Rahman of the Daily Samakal,  and Daily Star journalist Mathews Chiran were awarded under three categories.

At the event, State Minister for Information Dr Md Murad Hassan said the next generation of young journalists will have to take the responsibility of carrying out quality reporting and news investigation.

“Journalists, news readers, and media house owners must focus on specific, emphatic, and concise journalism, and take responsibility for a sustainable media industry, the state minister added.

ActionAid Bangladesh, a global movement of people working together to further human rights for all and defeating poverty, organized ‘ActionAid Young Journalist Media Award 2019’ to initiate a youth community agenda and to encourage young journalists in the organization’s Action for Impact(FRI) project.

ActionAid Acting Country Director Azgar Ali Saberi urged young people to come forward spontaneously to contribute in the country's progress and development. 

Former chief information commissioner Golam Rahman  announced the names of the winners.

Addressing the event, special guest Reaz Ahmad, executive editor of the Dhaka Tribune said: "Journalists play an important role to pave the way for a better future for young people. He, therefore, urged young journalists to make the reports succinct but more detailed and precise.

Among others, Munir Hossain, youth coordinator Daily Prothom Alo, Jafar Wazed, director general Press Institute of Bangladesh (PIB) Borhanul Haque Samrat, senior news editor News24, and Dr. Nazneen Ahmed, senior research fellow Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies, spoke at the event. 

ActionAid Bangladesh (AAB) has taken responsibility for sponsoring the young journalist awards in three categories: 1. Journalism on promoting youth leadership for social transformation 2. Journalism on promoting decent work and economic opportunities for young people, and 3. Journalism on promoting youth responsive and accountable public services.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail