• Saturday, Nov 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Panthapath hotel attack: Police press charges against 14 militants

  • Published at 09:53 am December 9th, 2019
Hotel Olio International
The moment of explosion at Hotel Olio International on August 15, 2017 which killed the suicide bomber Dhaka Tribune

The case has been already sent to Anti-Terrorism Special Tribunal for hearing

Police have pressed charges against 14 members of a new faction of banned militant outfit Jama’atul Mujahideen Bangladesh (New JMB) over the bombing on a hotel in Dhaka's Panthapath area.

Dhaka Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Court General Recording Officer Sub-Inspector (SI) Shafayatul Islam said: "The Counter Terrorism and Transnational Crime (CTTC) Unit Inspector Raju Ahmed, also investigation officer of the case, submitted the charge sheet before the court on Monday."

The case has already been sent to Anti-Terrorism Special Tribunal for hearing, he added.

On August 15, 2017, a member of New JMB, Saiful Islam, 21, blew himself up at Hotel Olio International on Panthapath, only about 300m away from the Bangabandhu Memorial Museum.

The incident took place just three hours after President Md Abdul Hamid, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, and other high-ups of the government paid their respects to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at the museum in Dhanmondi on National Mourning Day.

A member of law enforcement agency examines the scene after a bomb blast took place at Hotel Olio International at Panthapath in Dhaka on August 15, 2017 | Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Among the 14 militant accused in the charge sheet, 10 of them have already delivered confessional statements in court. Militant Saiful Islam has not been named among the accused as he died when he detonated the bomb.

The 14 accused are: Akram Hossain Khan Niloy, his parents Abu Turab Khan and Sadia Hosna Lucky, sister Tazrin Khanom Shuvo, Tanvir Yasin Karim, Tanvir’s wife Humayra Jakir alias Nabila, Abdullah alias Aichan Kabiraj alias Rafik, Abul Kashem Fakir alias Abu, Nazmul Hasan Mamun, Md Tajul Islam alias Choton alias Mohammad alias Fahim, Tarek Mohammad alias Adnan, Lulu Sarder alias Shahid, Kamrul Islam Khan alias Shakil, and Abdullah.

Sources said Niloy, Nabila, Abu Turab, and Lulu Sarder are the only accused who are yet to give confessional statements. Nabila, Abu Turab, Sadia, Tajrin, and Tanvir are currently on bail.    

All of the accused were active members of New JMB.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail