• Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

3 Muktijuddho Mancha leaders placed on remand

  • Published at 10:03 pm December 24th, 2019
Muktijuddho Mancha
Photo shows: Al Mamun, general secretary of Muktijuddha Mancha's central committee and Yasir Arafat Turjo, general secretary of Muktijuddha Mancha's Dhaka University unit Collected

Ducsu VP Nur and 27 others were severely beaten inside Ducsu building on Sunday

A Dhaka court has placed three leaders of Muktijuddho Mancha on remand for an attack on Dhaka University Central Students' Union (Ducsu) Vice President (VP) Nurul Haque Nur and his followers.

Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate Md Moinul Islam issued the order after law enforcement produced the three in court on Tuesday.

Shahbagh police station Inspector (investigation) Arifur Rahman Sarder, investigation officer of the case, sought a five-day remand for each of the three.

The court however granted a three-day remand for each.

The three are - Al Mamun, general secretary of Muktijuddho Mancha's central committee and Yasir Arafat Turjo, general secretary of the Mancha's Dhaka University unit, and Mehedi Hasan Shanto, office secretary of a Muktijuddho Mancha faction.

Mamun and Yasir were arrested on Monday, and Mehedi on Tuesday. Mamun and Turjo are among 25-30 people sued by the police in connection with the attack

The court also set February 4 for a report submission about the attack on Nur and others.

The Ducsu vice president and 27 others were injured in an attack reportedly carried out by the Chhatra League and Muktijuddho Mancha on Sunday. 

The Mancha is allegedly comprised of mostly Chhatra League followers.

A case was filed against eight Muktijuddho Mancha leaders and activists in connection with the attacks on VP Nurul Haque Nur and 27 others.

Shahbagh police station Sub-Inspector (SI) Rais Uddin filed the case against them and 30 to 35 other unnamed accused around 12:30am on Tuesday, police station OC Abul Hasan told Dhaka Tribune.

The accused in the case are: Muktijuddho Mancha central committee President Aminul Islam Bulbul and General Secretary Al Mamun, its DU unit President ASM Al Sonet and General Secretary Yasir Arafat Turjo, Imran Sarker, Yead Al Riyad, Mahbub Hasan Niloy, and Touhidul Islam Mahim.