• Saturday, Jun 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:24 pm

By-elections to Dhaka 18 underway

  • Published at 08:58 am November 12th, 2020
Dhaka-18 By-Polls
A woman casting his vote in Dhaka-18 by-polls 2020 on Thursday, November 12, 2020 Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka Tribune

A total of six candidates are contesting in the by-polls

People have already started voting for the by-elections to Dhaka 18.

The voting was started from 8am and continue till 4pm on Thursday.

The by-elections of another parliamentary constituency, Sirajganj 1, will also be held on Thursday.

Earlier, the Election Commission (EC) completed all the preparations for holding the polls in a fair and peaceful environment.

Six contenders are Awami League nominated Md Habib Hasan, BNP’s nominated SM Jahangir Hossain, Jatiya Party's Nasir Uddin Sarkar, Gano Front's Kazi Md Shahidullah, Bangladesh Congress's Omar Faruk and PDP's Mobibullah Bahar.

The Ministry of Public Administration has decided to close only election-related institutions on the day of polling in these two constituencies. All other offices will remain open.

Some public transports have been banned from Wednesday midnight to Thursday midnight and motorcycles have been banned from midnight on Tuesday to midnight on Friday.

Subject to the permission of the Election Commission, some vehicles will be allowed to move.

People line up to cast vote in Dhaka-18 by-polls on Thursday, November 12, 2020 | Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka TribuneIn order to maintain law and order, additional magistrates and law enforcement personnel have been serving in the two constituencies.

Dhaka 18 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker Advocate Sahara Khatun while Sirajganj 1 constituency fell vacant following the death of ruling party MP Mohammad Nasim.

Candidates and voting centers

According to EC sources, the Dhaka 18 constituency consists of wards 1, 17, and 43 to 54 of Dhaka North City and the airport area.

The total number of polling stations is 217 and the number of polling booths is 1,353. The total number of voters is 577,188. Among them, 296,135 voters are male and 281,053 are female.

A total of six candidates are contesting in Dhaka 18 constituency.

Candidates contesting in Dhaka 18 are – Awami League (AL) backed Mohammad Habib Hasan, BNP nominated SM Jahangir Hossain, Jatiya Party nominated Mohammad Nasir Uddin Sarkar, Mohammad Omar Faruque of Bangladesh Congress, Kazi Mohammad Shahidullah of Gonofront and Mohammad Mahibbullah Bahar of PDP.

Sirajganj 1 constituency consists of Kazipur, part of Sadar and of one municipality.

Candidates contesting in Sirajganj 1 are- Awami League backed Tanvir Shakil Joy and BNP nominated Selim Reza.

The total number of voters in this constituency is 345,603. Of these, 171,641 are male voters and 173,962 are female voters.

There are 168 voting centers in this constituency.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail