• Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:54 pm

Special trains launched on Gazipur-Dhaka route

  • Published at 05:34 pm June 20th, 2021
File photo of a moving train Dhaka Tribune

The trains will operate every day carrying passengers up to half of their capacities

The railway authorities have introduced three special trains on the Gazipur–Dhaka route in a bid to ease the sufferings of daily commuters.

The special trains were launched on Sunday morning with the "Turag Express" which carried more than 1,000 commuters from the Joydebpur Railway Junction, said Station Master Rezaul Karim.

Turag Express will leave Gazipur for Dhaka at 7:15am every day and leave Dhaka for Gazipur at 5:20pm.

The two other trains are "Tangail Commuter" and "Kaliakoir Demu".

The Tangail Commuter will start from Gazipur at 8:20am every day and from Dhaka at 6:00pm while the Kaliakoir Demu will depart from Gazipur at 5:30pm and leave Dhaka the next day at 1:45pm, said Station Master Rezaul.

Commuters have hailed the move by the Bangladesh Railway.

"Gazipur residents are grateful to the railway minister and state minister for youth and sports [Gazipur-2 MP Zahid Ahsan Russel] and others for these trains to meet the long-standing demand of the people of Gazipur," said Shamsul Haque, president of Gazipur Passengers’ Community.

To avoid traffic gridlock on the Dhaka-Mymensingh Highway, the trains will be operated every day carrying passengers up to half of their capacities as part of Covid-19 restrictions.