• Sunday, Sep 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

19 universities opt for cluster admission tests

  • Published at 11:56 am December 1st, 2020
DU Admission test-Ka unit
Representational photo Focus Bangla

The respective general, science, and technology universities are scheduled to publish advertisements regarding the admissions mentioning their respective conditions and demands

Nineteen general, science, and technology universities of the country are scheduled to hold admission tests for the 2020-2021 academic year in a cluster system.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) confirmed the matter via a press release on Tuesday.

The decision was taken on Tuesday at an exchange meeting with the vice-chancellors (VCs) of the respective universities. 

Based on three subjects – science, humanities, and commerce – admission tests will be held directly in these public universities. Question papers are to be prepared based on the syllabus of higher secondary exams.

The meeting was presided over by UGC Chairman Prof Kazi Shahidullah. The joint convener of the general, science, and technology universities, and Jagannath University VC, Mizanur Rahman, said that the Central Admission Test Committee comprising the  VCs of the respective universities will determine the admission test procedure. The committee will then allot a score to the students based on the admission test.

The universities of this group would have to publish advertisements ahead regarding the admission of students, mentioning their respective conditions and demands.

Also Read - Public universities decide to have admission tests amid pandemic

The respective universities would later admit students depending on their scores and not hold separate tests.

In the virtual view exchange meeting, UGC Chairman Professor Kazi Shahidullah said that there were no other options for the universities but to hold admission tests in a cluster system, due to Covid-19 pandemic. He urged the vice-chancellors to prepare for the admission tests in a straightforward and easy manner, keeping in mind the plight of the students and their parents.

UGC members former VC of Khulna University of Engineering and Technology Professor Muhammad Alamgir, Dr Biswajit Chandra Chanda, chairman and professor of Rajshahi University’s law and land administration department, and Dr Md Abu Taher, professor of management department of Chittagong University, and Dr Sajjad Hossain, professor of department of computer science and engineering of University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh (ULAB), were present, among others.

Following are the universities that will conduct the cluster admissions tests:

Islamic University (IU), Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST), Khulna University (KU), Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University (HSTU), Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU), Jagannath University (JnU), Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and Technology (JUST), Begum Rokeya University Rangpur (BRUR), Pabna University of Science and Technology (PUST), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), and Barisal University (BU).

On February 26, a policy decision was taken to conduct cluster admission tests in three batches in public universities.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail