• Monday, Oct 03, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Shariatpur 2 constituency: Internal feuds rise in AL, BNP

  • Published at 03:40 am October 1st, 2018
WEB_Seeking nominations_Shariatpur-2_Edited_01.10.02018
File photo of the people seeking nominations from different parties for Shariatpur 2 constituency Colelcted

The constituency is constituted by Naria upazila and Shakhipur area of Bhedarganj upazila. There are 3,09,468 voters in the constituency

The ruling Awami League and the main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) are both being ravaged by internal feuds in Shariatpur 2 constituency ahead of the national polls expected in December. 

The constituency is constituted by Naria upazila and Shakhipur area of Bhedarganj upazila and has 309,468 registered voters. 

According to AL sources, a long standing conflict among the party’s leaders in the district has bubbled to the surface since 85-year-old Col (retd) Shawkat Ali announced that he has no interest in contesting the upcoming JS polls due to his age. 

Shawkat was elected parliamentarian in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2001, 2008 and 2014. During his time in office, he has served on various parliamentary committees, including as chair of the Standing Committee on Ministry of Shipping and Committee on Private Members Bills and Resolutions between 1996 and 2001.

He was elected unanimously the deputy speaker of the ninth parliament on January 25, 2009, following a landslide Awami League victory.

With the pathway to parliament left clear by Shawkat’s imminent retirement, AL aspirants are currently engaged in hectic lobbying to garner party tickets.

Central Committee Organising Secretary AKM Enamul Haque Shamim, Former Chairman of Naria upazila Prof Sultan Mahmud Simon, reserved seat MP Navana Akter and Dr Khaled Shawkat Ali, the son of Col Shawkat Ali, are trying to get nominations.

While the aspirants have announced their candidature by putting up posters and billboards and by attending various social and religious functions, party insiders say the dispute among them has deepened.

Ruling party friction

Former Jubo League Central Committee member  and people.

Simon, a Freedom Fighter and now a prosecutor of International Crimes Tribunal, has also played a big role in local politics and thinks the party will nominate him “considering his contributions for the AL and country”.

Reserved seat MP Navana says she has a “great role” in the 1/11 movement to free Sheikh Hasina.

She hopes the party will evaluate her as she is working for the development of the  constituency as she was elected MP.

Dr Khaled Shawkat says he will “work to implement the vision of his father” if he is nominated.

BNP divided

The BNP aspirants are yet to be seen holding public meetings, however, the party’s candidates hope to take advantage of the AL’s factional feuds in the constituency.

Shariatpur district unit former BNP president Shafiqur Rahman Kiron, Central Committee Member Jamal Sharif Hiru, Former MP Dr KA Jalil,  local BNP leader Col (retd) SM Faisal and TM Gias Uddin are all trying to get nominations.

According to BNP insiders, leaders and activists of BNP are divided in two groups in the constituency. Kiron leads one faction while Hiru leads another faction. 

Although the opposition appears splintered, locals say the ruling Awami League is also on a slippery slope as a section of its grassroots leaders in the constituency have indulged in internal feuds, use of firearms, misconduct and other unhealthy activities over the years.

Party insiders say such activities are tarnishing the image of the Awami League.

Locals say they want such a representative who will work to protect them from floods, river erosion and for the development of the constituency.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail