• Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Kushtia 3 constituency: AL seeks to retain seat, BNP to pose a challenge

  • Published at 07:20 am October 16th, 2018
Kushtia 3
From top left: Awami League Joint General Secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif, the party’s district unit General Secretary Azgar Ali, Jatiya Party’s district unit President Nafiz Ahmed Khan Titu, The district’s Swechchhasebak Dal unit Organizer Shamim Ul Hasan Opu, Kushtia Sadar Upazila Chairman Zakir Hossain and BNP's district unit General Secretary and former MP Sohrab Uddin

Kushtia 3 was once a BNP stronghold, but the 2008 election changed the constituency’s political landscape

The ruling Awami League is looking to retain the Kushtia 3 constituency at the upcoming parliamentary election by riding on the popularity of the party’s joint general secretary, Mahbubul Alam Hanif.

Hanif had to vacate his Kushtia 2 seat for JaSad chief Hasanul Haq Inu as part of the Awami League-led alliance at the 2014 election. He switched his campaigning efforts to Kushtia 3 and easily defeated his rival as the main opposition BNP boycotted the polls.

The constituency of 303,401 registered voters comprises 11 unions and a municipality and was once a BNP stronghold. However, the scenario changed in 2008 when Awami League’s Khandker Rashiduzzaman Dudu defeated the BNP candidate.

This time around, BNP is bidding to regain Kushtia 3 on the back of its morale boosting defeat of the Awami League in the recent upazila election. 

However, party activists fear police harassment, attacks by ruling party supporters and a large number of sabotage cases could derail its campaign.

Apart from the Awami League and BNP, smaller political parties have also hit the canvassing trail.

Hanif likely pick for AL

Locals say the constituency has seen unprecedented development since Hanif became the MP. He keeps in touch with the public and holds regular meetings with them.

“The next election will not be a tough one for Hanif (as) he has done a lot for the people and our party activists are with him,” Awami League’s district unit senior vice-president and zila parishad chairman, Rabiul Islam, said.

The party’s district unit general secretary, Azgar Ali, and municipal mayor Anowar Ali - previously represented the party in the national polls but failed to win - are also seeking the party’s nominations.

Kushtia Awami League Publicity Secretary Hasanul Askar Hasu says the next election will likely be “very competitive”. 

“Those who pretended to be Awami League activists will show their true faces soon,” he said. 

“Many of our leaders and activists, who sacrificed a lot during the hard times, became inactive because of these shape-shifters. We need our activists to activate again. Otherwise, the party may suffer.”

BNP to pose challenge for AL

Retaining the seat will be a challenge for Awami League.

In the most recent upazila election, Kushtia Sadar Upazila Chairman Zakir Hossain defeated the ruling party candidate by 50,000 votes. In addition, BNP’s ally Jamaat-e-Islami, which cannot contest this election, will likely lend its support to Khaleda Zia’s party.

As such BNP nomination-aspirants are trying to organize the party. 

As well as Zakir, the party’s district unit general secretary and former MP Sohrab Uddin is popular among the locals and has been campaigning hard. His role during the 2007-08 caretaker government has also earned him special recognition among the party’s central command.

“Police are harassing our party’s activists as they campaign, while Awami League activists are threatening BNP activists,” Sohrab said. “The BNP candidate will win if the voting is free and fair.”

Another option for BNP is the district’s Swechchhasebak Dal unit organizer, Shamim Ul Hasan Opu, who also says he will seek the party’s nod to contest the polls.

Apart from the Awami League and BNP aspirants, Jatiya Party’s district unit President Nafiz Ahmed Khan Titu and District JaSad (Inu faction) chief Golam Mohsin are also trying to impress voters.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail