• Monday, Mar 27, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Kishoreganj 2 constituency: AL, BNP aspirants’ campaigns in full swing

  • Published at 07:55 pm October 22nd, 2018
Top row (L-R): Sohrab Uddin, Noor Mohammad, MA Afzal, Rafiqul Islam Renu, Bottom row (L-R): Mokhlesur Rahman Badal, Maj (retd) Akhtaruzzaman Ranjan, Deen Mohammad Nurul Haque, and Ashfaq Ahmed June Dhaka Tribune

Two-time MP Sohrab Uddin will again be bidding for selection in Kishoreganj 2  after winning the seat for the Awami League at the 2008 and 2014 elections

Several heavyweight aspirants for both the Awami League and BNP have been busy campaigning in Kishoreganj 2 constituency ahead of the 11th national election.

They have been holding street rallies and interacting with voters in public places including markets in the constituency, which encompasses Katiadi and Pakundia upazilas.The nomination seekers are also lobbying the top brasses of their respective parties.  

Awami League frontrunners

Two-time MP Sohrab Uddin will again be bidding for selection in Kishoreganj 2  after winning the seat for the Awami League at the 2008 and 2014 elections.

He is facing a string of ruling party big hitters, however, including the former inspector general of police, Noor Mohammad; the former director general of the Directorate of Health, Deen Mohammad Nurul Haque; and International Crimes Tribunal prosecutor, Moklesur Rahman Badal. Also in contention are the party’s district unit general secretary MA Afzal, leader MA Mannan, and Pakundia upazila parishad chairman Rafiqul Islam Renu. All of them are campaigning regularly and holding rallies.

Local leaders think believe that if internal feuds ensues among these nomination-aspirants, then votes will be divided and the party will lose in the election. However, if the Awami League nominates a clean-image candidate, analysts believe they will run away with the vote. 

“We will work for the person who the party nominates to contest the election,” Awami League’s Katiadi upazila unit Chairman Md Abdul Wahab Ain Uddin said. The sentiment was shared by the party’s Pakundia upazila unit leader, Motahar Hossain Swapan.

BNP aspirants

BNP aspirants for the seat include former MP and senior leader Maj (retd) Akhtaruzzaman Ranjan, and businessman Ashfaq Ahmed June.

These aspirants have already started campaigning and since BNP has fewer aspiring nominees, there is no apparent rivalry in the party.

However, no visible campaigning has yet been seen in Kishoreganj 2 by the principal opposition in parliament, Jatiya Party. l

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail