• Wednesday, Jan 19, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

Joypurhat 1 constituency: Awami League keen to retain seat, BNP hopeful of winning

  • Published at 12:28 pm October 25th, 2018
From left- Nripendranath Mandal, Habibur Rahman Habib, Mostafizur Rahman Mostak, Khaza Shamsul Alam, Shamsul Alam Dudu, Zohurul Islam, Nafizur Rahman Palash, Fazlur Rahman, Faisal Alim, Momtaz Uddin Mondal, and ASM Moktadir Titas Collected

The constituency was a BNP stronghold until the 2008 election

Leaders of the ruling Awami League and opposition in parliament, Jatiya Party, are busy campaigning for the upcoming national election in Joypurhat 1 constituency.

Though BNP is waiting for a decision from the party’s top brass about whether to participate in the election, the nomination-aspirants are interacting with the public. 

Both Awami League and BNP have multiple nomination-seekers and there is rivalry among them. 

Consisting of Joypurhat sadar and Panchbibi upazilas this constituency has a total of 398,979 voters.

Awami League frontrunners

Awami League won the constituency in the previous election but before that, it was a BNP stronghold. 

Incumbent MP Shamsul Alam Dudu is again seeking the party’s nomination. 

He is facing several senior and junior aspirant-candidates, including: the party’s district unit Vice President Khaza Shamsul Alam, Public Prosecutor Nripendranath Mandal, sadar upazila unit’s General Secretary Zohurul Islam, Panchbibi upzila unit’s General Secretary Habibur Rahman Habib, district unit’s Joint General Secretary Mostafizur Rahman Mostak, and district unit’s leader  Toufidul Islam Bulbul.

These nomination-seekers are campaigning by putting up billboards, banners, and festoons—as well as interacting with the public. 

BNP nomination-seekers

Joypurhat 1 was a BNP stronghold until 2008 and this election, the party wants to regain its bastion.

The party’s leadership is mired in  a feud. However, recently the situation has improved and the leaders and activists have united more than before and attended all party events together.

Those who are vying for BNP’s nomination include: the party’s district unit acting President Momtaz Uddin Mondal, former general secretary Fazlur Rahman, Joint General Secretary Masud Rana Prodhan, General Secretary Nafizur Rahman Palash, and the party’s central committee member Faisal Alim.

Aspirants of Jatiya Party and other parties

Jatiya Party’s district unit General Secretary ASM Moktadir Titas was a candidate of the Awami League-led Grand Alliance—to run for the previous election. However, later he sacrificed his candidacy for the Awami League candidate. 

The party has almost decided to nominate him. Titas has already started campaigning in this regard. 

Apart from these three parties, Jamaat-e-Islami district unit Chief Fazlur Rahman Sayeed is vying for a nomination.

However, no campaign activities have been undertaken by aspirants of other parties. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail