• Saturday, Oct 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:24 am

Cox’s Bazar 2 constituency: Several aspirants in AL, single for BNP

  • Published at 07:42 am November 15th, 2018
Top: From left- Ansarul Karim, Ashek Ullah Rafik, SarwarAzam, AHM Hamidur Rahman Azad, Ismat Ara Begum, Bottom: From left- Osman Gani, Hossain Ibrahim, Md Mohibullah, Sirajul Mostafa, Alamgir Muhammad Mahfuz Ullah Farid Courtesy

Since the government is implementing a number of mega projects in the area, retaining the seat is a challenge for Awami League

The implementation of two mega projects in Cox’s Bazar 2 constituency is providing a boost for the ruling Awami League as it bids to retain the seat in the upcoming 11th general election.

The construction of a coal-fired power plant and a deep sea port in the Matarbari area of  Moheshkhali is helping to sway undecided voters ahead of the poll, which is slated for December 30.

Aiming to capitalise on the feelgood factor, several Awami League members are seeking nominations, while one aspirant from its Jatiya Party alliance partner is already busy campaigning. 

However, no other parties including the main opposition BNP are yet visible in Cox’s Bazar 2, which comprises Moheshkhali and Kutubadia upazilas and has 296,081 registered voters. 

Awami League aspirants

Awami League nomination hopefuls include the party’s Maheshkhali upazila unit general secretary and incumbent MP, Ashek Ullah Rafik.

He will be challenged by environmental scientist Ansarul Karim, Maheshkhali upazila parishad chair Hossain Ibrahim, the party’s Cox’s Bazar district unit president Sirajul Mostafa, former Chhatra League leader Osman Gani, and leaders Ismat Ara Begum Ismu and Sarwar Azam. 

All of them are highlighting the government projects during their campaigns. 

BNP nomination hopeful

Former MP Alamgir Muhammad Mahfuz Ullah Farid is seeking the BNP nomination in Cox’s Bazar 2. 

However, the local party unit is divided over a conflict between Farid and the former state minister for communication, Salahuddin Ahmed. 

BNP’s Cox’s Bazar district unit President Shahjahan Chowdhury said either aspirant will work for the candidate the party chooses. 

Other parties

Jatiya Party central leader Md Mohibullah is seeking his party’s nomination in this seat, while former Jamaat MP AHM Hamidur Rahman Azad is likely to seek nomination if the party contests with the BNP-led 20-Party Alliance.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail