• Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

All the presidents’ sons

  • Published at 07:49 pm November 26th, 2018
President's sons
From left, Syed Ashraful Islam, Nazmul Hossain Papon and Rezwan Ahmed Towfiq Collected

AL nominates three presidents’ sons in Kishoreganj

The sons of three prominent Awami League leaders and former Bangladesh presidents have received nominations to contest the upcoming general election in Kishoreganj 1, 4 and 6 constituencies.

Syed Ashraful Islam, Nazmul Hossain Papon and Rezwan Ahmed Towfiq are all hoping to emulate the success of their fathers when the country goes to the polls on December 30.

Syed Ashraful Islam

A senior Awami League leader and the incumbent minister of public administration, Syed Ashraful Islam is the son of Syed Nazrul Islam, a key organizer of Bangladesh’s Independence war and the acting President of Mujibnagar government in 1971.

Syed Ashraful served as the State Minister for Civil Aviation & Tourism Ministry during 1996-2001 and came forward to steer the Awami League when it plunged into a crisis during the military-controlled caretaker government in 2007.

In 2008, Syed Ashraful was appointed as the minister of Local Government Rural Development & Cooperatives Ministry before being moved to the Ministry of Public Administration in July 2015.

Recently, Syed Ashraful Islam has been diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer and is undergoing treatment at the Critical Care Medicine Unit (CCMU) of the Bumrungrad International Hospital in Bangkok, Thailand.

He has received the AL party ticket for Kishoreganj 1 constituency.

Nazmul Hossain Papon

Nazmul Hasan Papon is the son of late AL politician Ivy Rahman and ex-president of Bangladesh, Zillur Rahman.

He is the managing director of Beximco Pharmaceutical Limited and Shinepukur Ceramics Limited, and also headed a subcommittee in parliament formed to investigate the manufacturing practices of pharmaceutical companies in Bangladesh. 

He was the president of Abahani club for almost a decade and was elected as the president of Bangladesh Cricket Board in October 2012.

Papon has been nominated for Kishoreganj 6 constituency.

Rezwan Ahmed Towfiq

President Abdul Hamid’s eldest son, Rejwan Ahmed Toufiq was elected MP for Kishoreganj 4 constituency on an Awami League ticket following his father’s ascent to the presidency in April 2013. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail