• Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Nominations of 3 Awami League, 141 BNP candidates rejected

  • Published at 01:08 am December 4th, 2018
WEB_Election Commission_nomination scrutiny_Edited_Mehedi Hasan_02.12.2018.jpg
An Election Commission official looks through a stack of nomination papers for the 11th parliamentary election in Dhaka on Sunday, December 2, 2018 Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

According to Election Commission’s data compiled on Monday, the number of BNP candidates found valid for contesting the 11th parliamentary election is 555 and Awami League 278

Nomination papers of 141 BNP aspirants and three Awami League contestants were rejected by returning officers during the scrutiny on Sunday.

According to Election Commission’s data compiled on Monday, the number of BNP candidates found valid for contesting the 11th parliamentary election is 555 and Awami League 278.

Awami League, BNP nominations

A total of 696 BNP candidates submitted nomination papers for 295 constituencies and 281 Awami League aspirants submitted nominations in 264 seats last Wednesday (November 28).

Country wide rejection

The returning officers on Sunday rejected 786 out of 3,065 nomination papers submitted by candidates in 300 constituencies. 

In 35 constituencies, none of the nomination papers of the candidates were rejected.

A sum total of 38 nomination papers of HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party (JaPa) were rejected.

At least 13 out of 23 nomination papers were rejected in Kurigram 4 constituency, 11 each were rejected in Dhaka 17 and Brahmanbaria 2 constituencies, and 10 each in Faridpur 4, Mymensingh 3, Brahmanbaria 3, and Comilla 3 constituencies.

Petitions filed 

On Monday, 84 aspirants filed petitions with the Election Commission challenging the rejection of their nominations.

Of the petitions filed, 83 petitions against the rejection of nomination papers, whereas, one was filed against the acceptance of an invalid nomination paper. 

In 2008, 309 petitions were filed against the rejected nominations, while 49 were filed against the acceptance of invalid nomination papers.

Constituency-wise valid candidates

Returning officers found 195 valid candidates from JaPa to contest the polls.

The lowest valid candidates were in Madaripur 1, which stood at two, while the highest valid candidates stood at 17, in Comilla 3 constituency.

Over 60 constituencies have at least 10 valid candidates.

Valid candidates from other parties

There are 69 valid candidates from Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB), 44 from Dr Kamal Hassan-led Gono Forum, 12 from Liberal Democratic Party (LDP-Oli), 13 from Jatiya Party (JP-Manju), 2 from Bangladesh Samyabadi Dal, 32 from Kader Siddique-led Krishak Sramik Janata League, 8 from Jatiya Gonotantrik Party (Jagpa), 11 from National Awami Party (NAP), 32 from Bangladesh Workers Party (Menon), 24 from Bikalpadhara Bangladesh (Badruddoza), 39 from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JaSod-Inu), 44 from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD-Rob), 73 from Zaker Party, 43 from Socialist Party of Bangladesh (BSD), 6 from Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP-Partho), 20 from Bangladesh Tarikat Federation (BTF), 22 from Bangladesh Khelafat Andolan, 40 from Bangladesh Muslim League, 73 from National People's Party (NPP), 14 from Jamiat Ulema-e Islam Bangladesh, 14 from Jatiya Gono Front (JGF), 14 from Bangladesh Peoples’ Democratic Party (BPDP), 5 from Bangladesh National Awami Party (Bangladesh NAP), 11 from Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP-Matin), 5 from Bangladesh Kalyan Party, 23 from Islami Oikyajote, 9 from Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish, 281 from Islami Andolan Bangladesh, 22 from Bangladesh Islami Front, 4 from National Democratic Party (NDP), 27 from Bangladesher Biplabi Workers Party, 6 from Bangladesh Muslim League (BML), 3 from Bangladesh Sanskritik Muktijot and 56 valid contestants from Bangladesh Nationalist  Front (BNF).

The number of valid independent candidates were 144 in different constituencies across the country.

No AL candidates in 39 constituencies, BNP 10 constituencies

The 10 constituencies having no BNP candidates are Tangail 8, Moulvibazar 2, Comilla 7, Laxmipur 4, Chittagong 14, Sunamganj 3, Manikganj 2, Jamalpur 4, Pabna 1 and Bogura 7.

The 39 constituencies having no Awami League candidates include: Thakurgaon 3, Nilphamari 3 and 4, Lalmonirhat 3, Rangpur 1 and 3, Kurigram 2 and 4, Gaibandha 1, Bogura 2, 3, 4, 6 and 7, Rajshahi 2, Kushtia 2, Satkhira 1, Barisal 3 and 6, Pirojpur 2 and 3, Mymensingh 4 and 8, Kishoreganj 3, Munshiganj 1, Dhaka 4, 6 and 8, Narayanganj 3 and 5, Sunamganj 4, Sylhet 2, Moulvibazar 2, Brahmanbaria 2, Feni 1 and 3, Lakshmipur 2, Chittagong 2 and 5.

During the Sunday’s scrutiny, nomination papers of all BNP aspirants in five constituencies Sunamganj 3, Manikganj 2, Jamalpur 4, Pabna 1 and Bogura 7  were cancelled, while that of Awami League candidates in three constituencies Kurigram 4, Satkhira 1 and Narayanganj 3 were rejected.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail