• Saturday, Jul 02, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

BNP to leave 19 constituencies to Oikya Front

  • Published at 12:52 pm December 9th, 2018
File photo of Jatiya Oikya Front leaders Dhaka Tribune

According to an insider, Oikya Front leaders have purchased their nomination forms at the BNP office

According to a party insider, BNP may be planning to leave 19 constituencies to Oikya Front candidates—to contest in the 11th parliamentary election. 

For Oikya Front coalition partners, BNP has set aside seven seats for the Gono Forum; five, each, for the Nagorik Oikya and the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal; and two seats for Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL). 

The party insider told the Dhaka Tribune that Oikya Front leaders have collected their nomination papers at the BNP office—and a negotiation among the senior leaders is underway to finalize the lists of candidates for various constituencies. 

According to the insider: Gono Forum's Subrata Chowdhury was nominated for Dhaka 6, Mostafa Mohsin Montu for Dhaka 7, Sultan Mohammad Monsur for Moulvibazar 2, Abu Sayeed for Pabna 1, Khalequzzaman for Mymensingh 8, Reza Kibria for Habiganj 1, and Asma Amin for Kurigram 2.

Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal's ASM Abdur Rab was chosen for Laxmipur 4, Abdul Malek Ratan for Comilla 4, Saiful Islam for Kishoreganj 3, Shahiduddin Mahmud Swapan for Dhaka 18, and Nurul Islam Mal for Shariatpur 1.

Nagorik Oikya's Mahmudur Rahman Manna will be contesting for Bogra 2, SM Akram for Narayanganj 5, Shah Md Rahmatullah for Rangpur 1, Mofakharul Islam Nabab for Rangpur 5, and JM Nurur Rahman for Barisal 4.

KSJL leader Kader Siddiqui's daughter, Kuri Siddiqui, was nominated for Tangail 8—and Rafiqul Islam for Tangail 4.

All of the above-mentioned candidates will contest the election using BNP's electoral symbol “Sheaf of Paddy,” said the insider.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail