• Monday, Nov 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Manju to contest polls with bicycle symbol

  • Published at 06:02 pm December 8th, 2018
Water-Resources-Minister-Anwar-Hossain-Manju-dhaka tribiune
Water Resources Minister Anwar Hossain Manju visited the affected area in Naria, Shariatpur on Tuesday, September 11, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

'The ruling party kept two constituencies for Jatiya Party (Manju): Pirojpur 2 and Kurigram 4'

Anwar Hossain Manju, chairman of Jatiya Party (Manju), will contest in the upcoming general election with its electoral symbol of a bicycle, from Pirojpur 2 constituency. 

Bhandaria upazila unit Jatiya Party Member Secretary and Dhaoa UP Chairman, Siddiqur Rahman, said Manju is going to compete in the constituency with the Jatiya Party’ s symbol bicycle, not the boat, the Awami League’s symbol.

The ruling party kept two constituencies for Jatiya Party (Manju): Pirojpur 2 and Kurigram 4, he said.

Jatiya Party (Manju) is a Bangladesh political party led by Anwar Hossain Manju. It is a splinter group of the original Jatiya Party that was founded by Hussain Mohammad Ershad.

Manju represents Pirojpur 2 constituency which consists of Kawkhali, Bhandaria, and Indurkani upazilas. He was elected Member of Jatiyo Sangshad six times from this constituency: in 1986, 1988, 1991, 1996, 2001, and 2014 .

Manju was the Minister of Energy and Mineral Resource of Bangladesh from 1985 to 1988 under Hossain Mohammad Ershad. He also served as Minister of Communications from 1988 to1990 for Ershad's government. Now he is the  current Minister of Water Resources.

It should be mentioned that when Awami League secured majority seats in the Jatiya Sangsad, Jatiya Party gave support to Awami League to form the government and joined the cabinet. 

Anwar Hossain Manju, the secretary general of the party, was included in the cabinet of Sheikh Hasina in charge of the Ministry of Communication.

Ershad was released on bail from jail on 9 January 1997. The Jatiya Party had a rift wrangling for leadership  in 2000, resulting in three factions, each headed by General Ershad, Anwar Hossain Manju, and Naziur Rahman Manju, respectively.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail