• Sunday, Sep 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

1,841 candidates contesting the upcoming election

  • Published at 06:05 pm December 10th, 2018
File photo: A woman putting ballot paper in a ballot box after casting her vote Dhaka Tribune

The Election Commission’s polls conducting wing finalized the candidature on Monday night after scrutinizing the data sent by all 64 districts’ returning officers

As many as 1,841 candidates including 96 independent contenders are contesting the 11th parliamentary election, an EC official said.

The Election Commission’s polls conducting wing finalized the candidature on Monday night after scrutinizing the data sent by all 64 districts’ returning officers.

Sunday was the last day for the aspirants to pull out from the race.

As many as 3,065 nomination papers were filed to contest the polls and 786 candidates were denied by the returning officers.

Nearly 250 people of the rejected got back their candidature after filing appeals and writ petitions to Election Commission and the High Court.

Of the 300 parliamentary seats, Comilla 13 has the maximum contenders at 15 while 15 other constituencies have only three candidates each.

On Monday, the commission allocated electoral symbols to the candidates. It preserves some 64 symbols including that of 39 registered parties’.

Rest of the symbols were allocated to the independent candidates.

Candidates can start campaigning soon after they receive the electoral symbol.

Campaigns run for the next 19 days till December 28 and must be stopped 32 hours before the day of the election.

This year, over 104.2 million voters will cast their ballot at 40,183 polling centres across Bangladesh.

As many as 390 candidates contested the 10th parliamentary election in 2014 from 147 constituencies, whereas 153 seats went uncontested.

The 11th general election is scheduled to be held across Bangladesh on December 30.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail