• Saturday, Jan 22, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

‘Govt trying to prevent voters from casting votes for BNP’

  • Published at 03:22 pm December 15th, 2018
BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir spoke at a press briefing in Bogra’s Woodburn Public Library on Saturday, December 15, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

Mirza Fakhrul also campaigned in Bogra 6 constituency

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir has accused the government of using state power and trying to prevent the people from casting their votes for BNP.

He made the statements in a press briefing organized at Bogra’s Woodburn Public Library auditorium on the last day of a two-day long election campaign on Saturday.

Fakhrul, who is contesting the election from Bogra 6, said: “BNP men are still being attacked and cases are also being filed against them. 

“There are attempts of removing us [BNP candidates] from the election.”

Stating that even one vote matters, Mirza Fakhrul said: “The ‘Sheaf of paddy’ symbol is thriving in Bogra constituencies as the people want a change.” 

“People want Chairperson Khaleda Zia’s release and if the public comes forward, no one will be able to stop us.”

The BNP leader said: “The Election Commission is helpless. They are just obeying the government’s orders and have failed to create a level playing field for the election. The administration is not neutral; they are helping the government to win the upcoming polls.”

Speaking about the harassment towards the party men, he said: “I am saddened that the attacks, harassments and arrests of BNP leaders and activists have not stopped even after the election scheduled was declared. 

“Apart from me, there were attacks on leaders like Dr Kamal Hossain and ASM Abdur Rab.” 

Regarding the caretaker government, the senior BNP leader said: “When Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina sought caretaker government against Jamaat and Jatiya Party, we had agreed to it. There were strikes for 173 days.”

He added that the following three consecutive elections were conducted fairly.

Fakhrul said: “However, Awami League abolished the caretaker government system after coming to power in the 2008 election. In 2014, Awami League formed the government after coming to power in the election, which was boycotted by BNP.”

Later, they revised the constitution and the removed the caretaker government system. 

Responding to a query, Mirza Fakhrul said: “We will go to the Election Commission in two to three days and ask it to the give armies the responsibility to monitor over the election with the power of magistracy to ensure free and fair polls.”

BNP Chairperson's Adviser AKM Mahbubur Rahman, District BNP President Saiful Islam, BNP Bogra 1 constituency candidate Kazi Rafiqul Islam, Bogra 3 constituency candidate Abdul Muhit Talukder, Bogra 4 candidate Mosharraf Hossain, Bogra 5 candidate Golam Mohammad Siraj, and Bogra 7 candidate Morshed Milton, among others, were present at the conference.

After the press conference, Mirza Fakhrul also campaigned with various BNP leaders and activists in his electoral area.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail