• Saturday, Jun 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Fierce competition between AL and BNP in Panchagarh 1

  • Published at 03:11 pm December 28th, 2018
Map of Panchagarh Dhaka Tribune

Until the 2008 election, the constituency was known as a BNP stronghold

Seven candidates, including ones of Awami League and BNP, are contesting the 11th parliamentary election for Panchagarh 1 constituency.

Activists and the public believe competition, between the Awami League candidate Md Mazharul Haque Prodhan and BNP candidate Barrister Nawshad Zamir, will be fierce.

Panchagarh 1 constituency—consisting of Panchagarh sadar, Atwari, and Tetulia upazila—was once known as a BNP stronghold. However, in the 2008 election, Awami League candidate Md Mazharul Haque Prodhan was elected an MP after defeating the strong BNP candidate, former acting president and speaker Barrister Muhammad Jamiruddin Sircar.

In the 2014 election, Awami League left the parliamentary seat to Jatiya Party; however, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal General Secretary Nazmul Haque Prodhan was elected to parliament as an independent MP from Panchagarh 1.

Since Mazharul Haque Prodhan has been nominated again to run for election, Awami League activists believe that he will be elected to continue the development activities started by Awami League.  

Mazharul said: “I want to serve the people and make an effort to realize their dreams of a bypass highway in Panchagarh, a railway extension from Panchagarh to Banglabandha, establishing medical colleges and airports, plus many more.

“I will present Panchagarh as a modern Panchagarh. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is working to build a poverty-and-hunger-free Bangladesh, which is why people will vote for Awami League.

The BNP candidate, former speaker late Mirza Golam Hafiz, was elected to this constituency in the 1991 election. BNP heavyweight candidate Speaker Barrister Muhammad Jamiruddin Sircar was elected MP in this seat during the 1996 and 2001 elections.

Meanwhile, BNP International Secretary Barrister, and Panchagarh 1 candidate, Muhammad Nawshad Zamir is contesting the election to regain the constituency his father lost. 

BNP Panchagarh 1 candidate Muhammad Nawshad Zamir told the Dhaka Tribune: “BNP has only one candidate in this election and that is Begum Khaleda Zia, we are all working on her behalf.

“BNP won in this constituency in: 1979, 1991, 1996, and 2001. This constituency has always belonged to BNP; however, because of the controversial election in 2008, BNP lost the seat.”

The BNP candidate said: “The continuous development in Panchagarh, while BNP was in power, has been disrupted during the last 10 years. We know there is no level playing field in the election, but we are still participating to protect democracy in Bangladesh.”

The other candidates in this seat are: Jatiya Ganatantrik Party (Jagpa) Spokesperson and senior Vice-President of central committee Engineer Al Rashed Prodhan (Hookah), district Jatiya Party General Secretary Md Abu Salek (Plough), Islami Andolan Bangladesh Panchagarh unit General Secretary Md Abdullah (Hand fan), Zaker Party Jubo Shechashebok Front General Secretary Sumon Rana (Rose), and National People’s Party’s (NPP) Habibur Rahman (Mango).

Sources from the district election office said Panchagarh 1—comprising three upazilas, one municipality, and 23 unions—has 379,203 voters; consisting of 189,914 men and 189,289 women. The number of new voters for this seat is 50,288.

The constituency has 155 polling centres and 737 polling booths.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail