• Monday, Nov 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Twenty arrested from BNP candidate’s house

  • Published at 04:29 pm December 28th, 2018
Some of the BNP activists and election campaigners, arrested from the residence of BNP nominated candidate for Barisal, Zahir Uddin Swapan, on Friday; December 28, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

The accused were produced before the additional chief judicial magistrate court on Friday afternoon

Police have arrested at least twenty people including leading local BNP activists and election campaigners from the residence of Zahir Uddin Swapan, BNP nominated candidate for Barisal-1 constituency at Sharikal under the Gournadi Upazila of the district on Friday morning.

Gournadi police station Officer-in-Charge (investigation) Mahbubur Rahman said, on receiving information that a secret meeting to commit sabotage is being held at Zahir Uddin’s house, joint forces along with BGB and police raided the spot and arrested 20 BNP leaders and activists including six suspected for committing anti-terrorist activities and 14 suspected for setting fire to the Awami League’s election camp at ward-4 in the Sharikal union.

The accused were produced before the additional chief judicial magistrate court on Friday afternoon. Later they were sent to Barisal jail, police sources added.

Zahir Uddin Swapan alleged that Joint forces including police and BGB raided his house at 2am on Friday morning and launched a search for two hours and arrested at least twenty election workers without any warrant.

The election workers assembled at his house to take guidelines to perform duty as his polling agents at different polling centers and booths on election day, Zahir Uddin added.

Expressing frustration he said, “If this situation prevails, how we can expect conducting a free, fair credible election.”

The arrestees included : Hannan Sharif, Rafikul Islam Kajal, Sajjad Zahir , AL Mamun Swapan, Mahmudul Alam Milon, Arafat Billah Khan, Rashed Mridha, Jewel Sardar, H M Musa, Bayezid Hasan, Sohel Gazi, Rubel Bhuiya, H M Masud Rana, Mubin Mridha, Moazzem Hossain, Chunnu Sardar, Rafikul Islam,Tarek Ahsan, Mezbahus Salekin, Sohel Shikdar.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail