• Friday, Sep 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Bangladesh likely to see highest ever number of female MPs

  • Published at 07:24 pm January 1st, 2019
WEB_Female lawmakers
Clockwise from top left, Sheikh Hasina, Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Sajeda Chowdhury, Matia Chowdhury, Sahara Khatun, Dipu Moni, Monnuzan Sufian, Ismat Ara Sadique, Simeen Hussain Rimi, Ayesha Ferdaus, Rowshan Earshad, Selima Ahmad, Momotaz Begom, Shirin Akhter, Sagufta Yasmin, Meher Afroze Chumki and Mahbub Ara Gini Dhaka Tribune

The 11th parliament will boast 22 female MPs

A total of 22 female contestants—the highest number ever in the parliamentary history of Bangladesh—are soon going to take their oath as lawmakers in the 11th parliament.

Among them, 19 are from ruling Awami League, two from Jatiya Party (JaPa), and one from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD).

Out of the 22, only two are new—Shahin Akhter from Cox's Bazar 4 and Selima Ahmad from Comilla 2—while the rest were also lawmakers in the 10th parliament.

Shahin Akhter is the wife of Awami League lawmaker Abdur Rahman Badi; while Bangladesh Women Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BWCCI) President Selima Ahmad is the wife of former FBCCI president Abdul Matlub Ahmad.

Some prominent faces securing victory in 11th parliamentary election include: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, JaPa leader Rowshan Ershad, and Deputy Leader of the House Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury.

The current lawmakers on the list include: Agriculture Minister Begum Matia Chowdhury, State Minister for Public Administration Ismat Ara Sadique, and State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Meher Afroze Chumki.

Former Posts & Telecommunications, and Home minister advocate Sahara Khatun, former foreign minister Dipu Moni, and former state minister for Labour and Employment Begum Monnuzan Sufian are also in the list of 11th parliamentary election winners. 

For the 11th general election, parties earlier nominated only a handful of women while fielding more than 1,800 candidates.

Among the major parties, Awami League nominated only 19 women among its 258 candidates for the upcoming polls, while its coalition partner, Jatiya Party, nominated only two out of 173; and its partner Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal only 1. 

BNP, along with the 20-Party Alliance and Jatiya Oikya Front, nominated only 16 female candidates for 300 seats. 

It was similar in the 8th and 9th parliamentary elections held in 2001 and 2008; a total of 39 women contested the polls in 2001, and 59 in 2008.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail