• Sunday, Feb 05, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Newly elected MPs set to take oath Thursday

  • Published at 07:10 am January 2nd, 2019
As per the constitution, the 11th parliament must be convened within 30 days of the MPs swear-in ceremony Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

MPs-elect must take oath within three days of the publication of election results through a gazette, which was published on Wednesday

The Bangladesh Parliament Secretariat is all set to swear in the 298 lawmakers elected in the recently held 11th parliamentary election on Thursday.

The ceremony is scheduled to take place at 11am in the Oath Room of the Parliament Complex.

A letter was sent to the parliament secretary with the directive to make preparations to organize the oath-taking ceremony, Election Commission Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said on Wednesday. 

The Election Commission on Tuesday published a gazette containing the details of the newly-elected members of parliament (MPs).

Traditionally, the oath-taking ceremony of lawmakers takes place within three days of the publication of the gazette.

According to Article 148 (2A) of the constitution, the newly elected MPs are obligated to take oath within three days of the publication of election results through an official gazette, or their memberships will be cancelled.

Bangladesh went to polls on Sunday in 299 out of its 300 general parliamentary seats. Voting in Gaibandha 3 constituency was postponed due to the death of a candidate on December 22.

However, results of Brahmanbaria 2 were suspended as polling in three centres in the constituency had been suspended on Sunday.

According to the gazette published by the Election Commission, the ruling Awami League won the elections by a landslide victory as it bagged 257 seats in parliament.

Jatiya Party, led by former military dictator HM Ershad (JaPa), which joined forces with the ruling party right before the elections, won in 22 constituencies.

Among the other partners of the Awami League-led Grand Alliance, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal won two seats each, Workers Party of Bangladesh won three, and Bangladesh Tariqat Federation won one seat. The Jatiya Party led by Anwar Hossain Manju (JP) secured one seat.

Among the oppositions, BNP, the main opposition party that has been out of power for 12 years and had boycotted the 10th general polls in 2014, fared extremely poor in the elections, securing victory in only five seats. Its ally Gono Forum bagged two seats, while three seats went to independent candidates.

As per the parliamentary practices, lawmakers of the winning side – in this case, the Awami League – will take oath, followed by the rest of the MPs-elect.

The ruling party will then hold the meeting of its parliamentary committee, which will select the leader of the House, who will I turn form the government.

The Awami League’s parliamentary committee will hold the meeting on Thursday at 12pm, at Level 9 of the Parliament Complex. 

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will preside over the meeting. 

According to the constitution, the president must convene parliament within 30 days of swearing-in ceremony.

The 11th parliament will officially begin functioning after the termination of the 10th parliament.

The 10th parliament, which was convened on January 29, 2014, will expire on January 28, 2019 according to the constitution.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail