• Saturday, May 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Election schedules on Feb 17 for reserved parliamentary seats

  • Published at 07:26 pm January 14th, 2019
web-File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament <b>Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune</b> sangsad
File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

EVMs will be used in all sadar upazila elections, says commission Secretary Helal Uddin

The Election Commission (EC) will announce election schedules on February 17 for 50 reserved seats of the 11th parliament, exclusively for women.

EC Secretary Helal Uddin on Monday disclosed this in briefing reporters after a meeting of the Election Commission at its headquarters in Agargaon, Dhaka.

He said the meeting also decided to start the 5th countrywide upazila elections in the first week of March and to use electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all sadar upazila parishad elections.

The schedule for the 5th countrywide upazila will be announced in the first week of February, Helal Uddin said, adding that the upazila elections will be held in phases.

Ahead of election to the reserved seats, Awami League is going to start selling nomination forms to aspirants on Tuesday.

The aspirants will have to collect nomination forms from the AL president's Dhanmondi political office in the city from Tuesday 10am, according to an AL press release on Saturday.

To meet requirements for proportional representation in Parliament, Awami League will get 43 reserved seats for women MPs in, Jatiya Party will have 4 seats, and BNP one, while other parties and the coalition of independent MPs will get the remaining two seats.

Out of the 300 parliamentary constituencies across the country, Awami League won 257, Jatiya Party 22, BNP six, Workers' Party got three, Gono Forum, JaSod, and Bikalpadhara won two seats each, Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party (Manju) got one seat each in the recent 11th general election.

Independent candidates were elected in three constituencies in the polls held on December 30 last.

The remaining one constituency will go to vote on January 27, as the election was postponed there earlier, following the death of a candidate.

The Election Commission has a legal obligation to arrange elections for the 50 women’s reserved seats within 90 days of the of general election results gazette being published.

Directly-elected members of parliament are the voters for the reserved seat elections.

If the number of political party nominated candidates  is equal to its proportionally reserved seats, the contenders will be declared elected unopposed immediately after the last date for withdrawal of candidacy.

However, eight MPs-elect of Jatiya Oikya Front, six from BNP and two from Gono Forum,  are yet to take oath of office as MPs.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail