• Monday, Aug 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Upazila polls: Awami League announces 87 chairman aspirants

  • Published at 01:02 pm February 9th, 2019
Boat-Zakir Hossain
Boat, the electoral symbol of Awami League Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader made the statement in a press conference

The ruling Awami League has announced the names of 87 candidates for chairman contesting the first-phase of the upazila parishad polls to be held on March 10.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader revealed the names of the chairman candidates at a press briefing held at the party president's political office in Dhanmondi on Saturday.

Earlier on Friday, the names of the candidates were finalized at a joint meeting between the Awami League Parliamentary Board and its Local Government Nomination Board, with Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina in attendance.

On February 4, Awami League began the sale of nomination papers to those who want to contest the first-phase of the upazila parishad elections.

According to the Election Commission, elections to 87 upazila parishads will be held in the first phase on March 10.

The last date for submitting nomination papers is February 11, while that of withdrawal is February 19.

According to electoral law, the election to any upazila parishad has to take place at least six months before the tenure of the local government body expires.

'BNP gets weaker for its negative politics'

At the press briefing, Obaidul Quader also said that BNP was getting weaker by the day because the party is banking on negative politics.

“Strong opposition in parliament is vital for strengthening democracy. We do not want BNP to become weaker but we have nothing to do if the party suffers due to its negative politics," he said.

“Although BNP has declined to join the upcoming upazila polls, we have come to know that many BNP leaders will contest as independent candidates,” Quader added.