• Saturday, Feb 04, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Bogra 6 by-polls on June 24

  • Published at 10:40 am May 8th, 2019
the Election Commission
File photo of Election Commission building Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

The seat was declared vacant after MP-elected Miza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir refrained from taking oath in due time

The Election Commission has announced that fresh polls will be held at Bogra 6 constituency on June 24, as the seat’s elected representative BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as the MP.

The commission’s Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed announced the schedule on Wednesday at the commission office in Dhaka’s Agargaon.

He said May 23 will be the last day to submit nomination papers and candidates would be able to withdraw nominations by June 3. The nomination papers would be scrutinized on May 27.

The symbols will be allocated to the candidates on June 4.

The secretary also said that electronic voting machines (EVMs) are expected to be used in each centre during the by-polls. Voting will start at 9am and end at 5pm.

"Since a lot of time is needed to set up EVMs and to ensure that ballot papers reach the centres by morning, we will require a preparatory period. Hence, the voting time has been changed from 9am to 5pm, instead of 8am to 4pm," said Helal.

On April 30, Speaker of the parliament Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury declared the Bogra 6 parliamentary seat vacant as MP-elect Fakhrul failed to swear-in within the stipulated time.

A lawmaker-elect must take oath within 90 days after parliament goes into its first sitting. However, Fakhrul did not turn up to take the oath by April 30.

Five other BNP lawmakers, however, were sworn in to the 11th parliament. While four of them took oath on April 29, another lawmaker was sworn in on April 25. 

BNP had rejected the December 30 general election results claiming that the polls had been rigged by the ruling party.

Those who did join the parliament later said they took the oath as per the directive of party’s acting chairperson, Tarique Rahman, who is now in exile in London.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail