• Sunday, Oct 02, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:24 am

Bogra 6 by-polls: Who will BNP nominate in Fakhrul’s place?

  • Published at 06:18 am May 14th, 2019
File photo of BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir Dhaka Tribune

Fakhrul made the announcement at a 20-party alliance meeting held at the BNP chairperson's Gulshan office later in the evening

Though Mirza Fakrul Islam Alamgir won from the Bogra 6 constituency in the 11th general election, the BNP secretary general did not take oath as MP. Now, the party and its allies have decided to field candidates in the by-polls slated for June 24.

The decision taken at a meeting of the leaders of BNP’s National Standing Committee and the 20-party alliance it leads on Monday, however, has left many wondering about who will represent them in the election.

Fakhrul made the announcement at a 20-party alliance meeting held at the BNP chairperson's Gulshan office later in the evening.

He said the party will also nominate a candidate for its reserved seat for women.

Party sources said that BNP is yet to primarily choose a candidate and that decision may come within one week.

But a Standing Committee member, requesting anonymity, told Dhaka Tribune that the party’s acting chairperson Tareque Rahman’s wife Zubaida Rahman is currently the frontrunner in becoming the Bogra 6 candidate from the alliance, but that will depend on her decision to return home.

Some leaders said if she returns home from the UK, then the party will nominate her without any debate to contest the polls.

BNP Vice-Chairman Selima Rahman said: “Every now and then we hear that Zubaida will join politics, but she is yet to come back. If she returns, it is highly likely that she will be the party candidate [for the Bogra 6 seat].”

Joint Secretary General Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal added the party top brass has initially decided that a central leader will be the candidate for Bogra 6.

The Bogra 6 seat had fallen vacant on April 30 after Fakhrul decided against taking oath of office within the deadline.

On April 25 and April 30, five other BNP candidates elected through the December 30 election took their oaths.

Prior to that, on March 7 and April 2, two MPs-elect of Gono Forum — BNP’s ally in the Jatiya Oikya Front — were also sworn into parliament.

Reserve seat decision due

The party will also decide within this week on its candidate for one of the parliamentary seats reserved for women, which it got after five BNP MPs took oaths of office last month.

BNP Organizing Secretary Ruhul Quddus Talukder Dulu said: “I think there is a good chance Barrister Rumin Farhana will be selected as reserved seat candidate.”

However, BNP sources said that central leaders were considering one of three women leaders — Assistant International Affairs Secretary Farhana, Jatiyatabadi Mohila Dal President Afroza Abbas and Organizing Secretary Shama Obaid — for the reserved seat.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers is May 20, and the nominations will be scrutinized on May 28 before the vote on June 16.

Of the 50 reserved seats in the 11th parliament, 49 were won uncontested by women lawmakers.

Ruling Awami League has 43 women MPs, Jatiya Party has four, while the Workers' Party and independents have one MP apiece — —based on the representation ratio of each party.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail