• Sunday, Sep 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Salahuddin, Rezaul get BNP tickets for Dhaka 5, Naogaon 6 by-polls

  • Published at 02:39 pm September 13th, 2020
File Photo: A BNP supporter carrying a memorabilia of sheaf of paddy, the party's electoral symbol, at a rally in Dhaka Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

Voting in the two parliamentary seats slated for October 17

BNP has nominated Salahuddin Ahmed and Sheikh Mohammad Rezaul Islam for the Dhaka 5 and Naogaon6 by-elections respectively, both slated for October 17.

A day after BNP’s nomination board virtually interviewed of the aspirants, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Sunday announced their names as the candidates of the party.

“Our party nominated Salahuddin Ahmed for Dhaka 5 by polls while Sheikh Mohammad Rezaul Islam for Naogaon 6,” said Fakhrul.

Salahuddin is the commerce affairs secretary of BNP and a three-time former lawmaker while Rezaul is the party’s Naogaon unit convening committee member.

On Saturday night, BNP’s nomination board interviewed 28 aspirants for Dhaka 5, Dhaka 18, Naogaon 6 and Sirajganj 1 by-polls.

Of them, 15 aspirants, including six for Dhaka 5 and nine for Naogaon 6, faced the interviews.

However, the names of the candidates for Dhaka 18 and Sirajganj 1 by-polls were not revealed since the Election Commission is yet to announce the schedule.

The Dhaka 5, Dhaka 18, Naogaon 6 and Sirajganj 1 constituencies fell vacant with the demise of Awami League lawmakers Habibur Rahman Molla, Sahara Khatun, Israfil Alam and Mohammad Nasim respectively.

On September 7, Awami League nominated Monirul Islam Monu for Dhaka 5 constituency and Mohammad Anawar Hossain Helal for Naogaon 6 parliamentary seat.

On Saturday, Jatiya Party gave nomination to its presidium member Mir Abdus Sabur Asud and Raninagar upazila unit president Kazi Golam Kabir as the candidates of ‘Plough’ in the Dhaka 5 and Naogaon 6 by-elections respectively. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail