• Sunday, Dec 04, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

First phase of municipality election on Dec 28

  • Published at 05:35 pm November 22nd, 2020
Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) were used in the Khulna city polls last month
File photo of Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

In the first phase, the election will be held in 25 municipalities

The first phase of municipality elections across the country will be on December 28.

“The first phase of municipal election will be held on December 28,” said Election Commission Senior Secretary Md Alamgir at a press briefing at their office in Agargaon Sunday evening.

In the first phase, the election will be held in 25 municipalities. The last date of nomination paper submission scheduled on December 1, nomination papers scrutinize on December 3 and last date of nomination papers withdrawal on December 10.

The voting, to be conducted through the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), will begin from 8am and continue till 4pm without any break.

The 25 municipalities are Panchagarh in Panchagarh district, Pirganj in Thakurgaon, Phulbari in Dinajpur, Badarganj in Rangpur, Kurigram in Kurigram district, Putia and Katakhali in Rajshahi, Shahjadpur in Sirajganj, Chatmohor in Pabna, Khoksha in Kushtia, Chuadanga, Chalna in Khulna, Betagi in Barguna, Kuakata in Patuakhali, Uzirpur and Bakerganj in Barisal, Gafargaon in Mymensingh, Madan in Netrakona, Manikganj, Dhamrai in Dhaka, Sripur in Gazipur, Dirai in Sunamganj, Barolekha in Moulvibazar, Shayesthaganj in Habiganj and Sitakunda in Chittagong.

Country’s total municipalities are 329 where 286 are prepared for elections and the rest 43 municipalities have different complexities and cases, said the secretary.

In four to five phases, the elections to all municipalities will be completed by March and April next year, Alamgir added.

After amendment of the local government act, the municipality election was held in the country in 2015. A total of 20 political parties took part in the election.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail