• Friday, Jul 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Municipal Polls: Distribution of BNP’s nomination papers begins Tuesday

  • Published at 09:56 pm November 23rd, 2020
BNP flag
Flag of the BNP

Earlier on September 18, BNP formulated guidelines for nominating its candidates for the upcoming elections to upazila parishads, municipalities and union parishads

BNP will formally start the distribution of its nomination papers from Tuesday to those who want to contest the upcoming first phase of elections to 25 municipalities with the party’s election symbol "Sheaf of Paddy."

The party aspirants can collect the nomination forms from the party chairperson’s Gulshan office or the party’s district offices, said a BNP press release on Monday.

It said those who will collect the nomination forms must submit those to party chairperson’s Gulshan office by November 29 following the guidelines and conditions of the party.

Earlier on September 18, BNP formulated guidelines for nominating its candidates for the upcoming elections to upazila parishads, municipalities and union parishads.

As per the guidelines, the party’s district unity president/convener, general secretary/member secretary or No 1 joint general secretary, municipality unit president/convener, general secretary/member secretary and No-1 joint general secretary will recommend in written for the nomination of the BNP’s municipality mayor and councillor candidates, and will send it to BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office with necessary papers, including NID card and updated voter list, five working days before the last date of submitting nomination papers.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission (EC), the first phase of municipal elections will be held on December 28.

The deadline for the submission of nomination papers is on December 1, while the date for the scrutiny of nomination papers is on December 3 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is on December 10.

The 25 municipalities that will go to polls on December 28 are Panchagarh of Panchagarh, Pirganj of Thakurgaon, Fulbari of Dinajpur, Badarganj of Rangpur, Kurigram of Kurigram, Puthia and Katakhali of Rajshahi, Shahjadpur of Sirajganj, Chatmohor of Pabna, Kokhsha of Kushtia, Chuadanga of Chuadanga, Chalna of Khulna, Betagi of Barguna, Kuakata of Patuakhali, Ujirpur and Bakerganj of Barishal, Gafargoan of Mymensingh, Madan of Netrakona, Dhamrai of Dhaka, Sreepur of Gazipur, Dirai of Sunanganj, Borolekha of Moulvibazar, Sayestaganj of Habiganj and  Sitakunda of Chittagong.

The voting will be conducted through the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) from 8am to 4pm without any break.

According to the Local Government Division, there are 329 municipalities in the country and the EC will hold elections to 224 in different phases as their tenures will expire by March 2021.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail