• Friday, Dec 02, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

First female mayor in Panchagarh

  • Published at 06:29 pm December 28th, 2020
Zakia Khatun, Awami League nominee for Panchagarh municipality
File photo of Zakia Khatun, Awami League nominee for Panchagarh municipality Collected

Awami League nominee Zakia Khatun has been unofficially elected as the mayor of Panchagarh

Zakia Khatun, Awami League party candidate, general secretary of the district women’s Awami League and a member of the central Awami League, has unofficially won the mayoral election in Panchagarh municipality. 

She received 12,056 votes. Her closest rival and current mayor BNP joint convener Md Touhidul Islam received 9,475 votes. 

Besides, Jatiya Ganatantrik Party (JAGPA) candidate Shahriar Alam Biplob got 448 votes under the hookah symbol. 

Zakia, a resident of the Rajnagar area of the district, is an assistant teacher of Dr Abeda Hafeez School and College.

Returning Officer and District Election Officer Md Alamgir unofficially announced the results on Monday night.

Also Read- Awami League takes lead in first phase of municipality elections

This time the total number of voters in Panchagarh municipality is 35,011. This includes 17,151 male and 17,860 female voters. 

Among them, 21,167 people voted, 88 votes were canceled and 21,979 were valid. The turnout was 63.02%. 

Zakia will be the first female mayor of Panchagarh municipality.  Last year, she lost the mayoral election to BNP candidate Touhidul Islam. 

Describing the victory as a victory of the people and Sheikh Hasina, newly elected mayor Zakia said: “I am committed to fulfilling my promises.”

Meanwhile, Mostafa Kamal was elected in ward 1, Majedur Rahman Iran in ward 2, Arif Hossain in ward 3, Md Lutfar Rahman in ward 4, Hasnat Md Hamidur Rahman in ward 5, Shafiqul Islam in ward 6, Saidul Islam in ward 7, Ashraful Alam in ward 8 and Abdullah Al Mamun Babu in ward 9. 

In the reserved seats for women councillor, Beauty Begum was elected in wards 1, 2 and 3, Eliza Akhter in wards 4, 5 and 6 and Rahena Begum in wards 7, 8 and 9.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail