• Wednesday, Feb 08, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

5th phase of municipality polls on Feb 28

  • Published at 05:16 pm January 19th, 2021
Bogra 2nd phase municipality polls
File photo: Long line of female voters at Bashipur Government Primary School to cast their franchise in the Santahar municipality polls In Bogra district on Saturday, January 16, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

EVMs will be used in all municipalities in the fifth phase

Elections to 31 municipalities will be held in the fifth phase of the municipality polls on February 28, according to the Election Commission.

Election Comission Secretariat Senior Secretary Md Alamgir announced the election schedule at the commission’s headquarters in Dhaka’s Agargaon on Tuesday.

According to the election schedule, the last date for submission of nomination papers in the fifth phase is February 2, the papers will be scrutinized on February 4, and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is February 11. Symbols will be allotted on February 12.

The 31 municipalities holding polls in the fifth phase are: Rangunia, Raozan, Mirsarai and Bariarhat of Chattogram, Raipur of Laxmipur, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Habiganj municipality, Dewanganj, Islampur, Madarganj and Jamalpur Sadar of Jamalpur district, Charghat and Durgapur of Rajshahi, Bagura Sadar, Singair of Manikganj, Matlab and Shaharasti of Chandpur, Keshabpur and Jashore Sadar of Jashore district, Shibchar and Madaripur Sadar of Madaripur, Haragach of Rangpur, Brahmanbaria Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Kaliganj and Maheshpur of Jhenaidah, Joypurhat Sadar of Joypurhat, Nandail of Mymensingh, Bhola Sadar of Bhola district and Kaliganj of Gazipur. 

Alamgir said electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in all the municipalities in this phase and there will be no general holiday on the day of the elections.

Voting will continue from 8am to 4pm without any interruption, he said.

Replying to a question, the Election Commission secretary said the people’s confidence in EVM use has increased and that is why they are standing in long queues to give their votes.

There are 329 municipalities in the country. Elections to 24 municipalities were held in first phase on December 28, and 60 municipalities held in the second phase on January 16.

Polls will be held in 64 municipalities in the third phase on January 30, while 56 municipalities will go to polls in the fourth phase on February 14.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail